Field starting to separate at 2020 Junior Nationals

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 15, 2020, 10:50 a.m. (ET)


Jan. 15, 2020


2020 Junior National Championships continue in Eau Claire


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The men’s and women’s fields are starting to make clear delineations as the round robin meets its halfway mark at the 2020 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Eau Claire, Wis.


Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.) and Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.) continue to lead the men’s division with perfect 4-0 records with Daniel Casper (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) on their heels at 3-1 in the seven-game round robin. Violette, a four-time junior national champion, led his team to two big wins on Tuesday. In the morning game, the team defeated Wes Wendling’s Wisconsin rink, 11-2, and wrapped up the day with an 11-4 victory over Minnesota’s Kevin Tuma. Sinnett’s team got past Daniel Murray’s squad, 8-5, and then defeated Ben Randall’s Wisconsin-based team by a 7-3 score. Casper and his team of Marius Kleinas (Marstons Mills, Mass.), Samuel Willertz (Midland, Mich.), Benjamin Grady (Media, Pa.), and Jacob Zeman (Duluth, Minn.) also earned two wins on Tuesday and will meet Violette in today’s 12 p.m. draw. Coleman Thurston’s Wisconsin rink secured its first win of the tournament with a 9-6 comeback victory last night against Wendling’s team. Earlier in the day Team Tuma also notched its first win as they defeated Randall, 8-6.


Last night, women’s teams skipped by Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.), Christine McMakin (Fargo, N.D.), and Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.) all won to put four teams at 3-0 and four teams at 0-3 in the round robin standings. After the round robin concludes on Thursday night, the top three teams will in each division will advance to the playoffs on Friday afternoon.


The round robin continues today with draws at 8 a.m., 12 p.m., 4 p.m., and 8 p.m. CT. A live webstream and live scores are linked at




Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.)               4-0

Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.)          4-0

Daniel Casper (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.)      3-1

Daniel Murray (Nisswa, Minn.)                 1-3

Benjamin Randall (Janesville, Wis.)          1-3

Coleman Thurston (Poynette, Wis.)         1-3

Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.)                     1-3

Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.)                 1-3



Draw 3: Violette 11, Wendling 2; Casper 8, Thurston 2; Tuma 8, Randall 6; Sinnett 8, Murray 5

Draw 4: Violette 11, Tuma 4; Casper 11, Murray 6; Thurston 9, Wendling 6; Sinnett 7, Randall 3



Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska)                3-0

Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.)            3-0

Christine McMakin (Fargo, N.D.)              3-0

Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.)            3-0

DaKotah Crotty (Pardeeville, Wis.)           0-3

Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.)           0-3

Anya Normandeau (Burnsville, Minn.)    0-3

Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska)               0-3



Draw 3: Jones 9, Traxler 8 (extra end); Strouse 6, Kitchens 2; McMakin 9, Crotty 7; Farrell 7, Normandeau 6


Follow along:

A live webstream and live scoring will be available for fans to follow along. All event information can be found here:


About the event:

The Junior National Championships feature 16 competing teams. The round robin continues through Thursday with the playoffs starting on Friday morning. The championship games will take place on Saturday. The winning men’s team will represent the United States at the 2020 World Junior Championships Feb. 15-22 in Krasnoyarsk, Russia. The U.S. did not qualify a women’s team for the world championship, unfortunately.


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Brakebush, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, Twin Cities Orthopedics, and Volt, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).