2020 Junior Nationals berth qualifier coming up

Oct. 29, 2019, 11:54 a.m. (ET)

The first of three qualifying events for the 2020 USA Curling Junior National Championships begins Nov. 8 at the Midland Curling Club in Midland, Mich. Six women’s and four men’s U21 teams will compete for available berths to the 2020 Junior Nationals in Eau Claire, Wis. Two berths per gender will be up for grabs and live scoring will be available via partner CurlingZone. The second qualifier is Nov. 22-24 at Curl Mesabi in Eveleth, Minn., while the Centerville (Wis.) Curling Club hosts the final opportunity Dec. 13-15. To register for the upcoming qualifiers, go to https://leagues.bluesombrero.com/Default.aspx?tabid=769668.

2020 Junior Nationals Berth Qualifier #1, Nov. 8-10, Midland, Mich.

Watch live at https://www.tesn.us/tesn---midland.html

Competing teams:


Team Crotty: DaKotah Crotty (Pardeeville, Wis.), Jessica Olson (Duluth, Minn.), Joanna Seboth (Oconomowoc, Wis.), Kristianna Yecoshenko (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Jones: Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.), Abigail Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Elizabeth Vorpahl (Portage, Wis.), Anna Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.)

Team McMakin: Christine McMakin (Minneapolis, Minn.), Anna Netteberg (Roseville, Minn.), Anne O’Hara (Fairbanks, Alaska), Emma Rau (Columbus, Ohio)

Team Normandeau: Anya Normandeau (Burnsville, Minn.), Rachel Kawleski (Stevens Point, Wis.), Anna Cenzalli (East Falmouth, Mass.), Celeste Taylor (Wausau, Wis.)

Team Traxler: Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska), Elizabeth Janiak (Nashua, N.H.), Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Elizabeth Cousins (Medfield, Mass.)

Team Weldy: Rachel Weldy, Lauren Thill, Rese Elza, Maitea Cox (all of Midland, Mich.)


Team Jelinek: John Jelinek (Hilliard, Ohio), Nolan Matus (Perrysburg, Ohio), Alex Van Berkom (Perrysburg, Ohio), Kyle Bengela (Perrysburg, Ohio)

Team Randall: Benjamin Randall (Janesville, Wis.), Austin Carlson (Midland, Mich.), Noah Witte (Schofield, Wis.), Ian Strong (Grand Blanc, Mich.)

Team Thurston: Coleman Thurston (Poynette, Wis.), Connor Kauffman (Lynnwood, Wash.), Nick Soto (Midland, Mich.), Jake Thurston (Poynette, Wis.), Hans Nielsen (Stevens Point, Wis.)

Team Wendling: Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.), John Wilkerson (Kronenwetter, Wis.), Mitchell Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Jackson Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Christopher Kirsch (Wausau, Wis.)

2020 Junior Nationals:

A field of eight men’s and eight women’s teams will compete at the 2020 Junior Nationals Jan. 12-18 at the Eau Claire Curling Club. USA Curling’s four Junior High Performance Program teams have already qualified for the national championship.

Qualified teams, 2020 Junior Nationals:

Team Dudt: Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.),

Team Farrell: Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Sam Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.)

Team Violette: Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.)