2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games Trials begin Thursday

By Terry L. Davis | Oct. 01, 2019, 12:03 p.m. (ET)


Oct. 1, 2019


Curling’s team for 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games to be determined this weekend


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – A record 11 teams will compete this week to be named to Team USA for the 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games.


The 11 teams competing at the 2020 U.S. Youth Olympic Team Trials for Curling are composed of two girls and two boys ranging in ages from 14 to 17 from all across the United States. The competition gets underway Thursday at the Denver Curling Club in Golden, Colo.


The teams will be split into two pools for a round robin with the top two rinks from each pool advancing to the semifinals on Sunday. Games will be eight ends in length. Live scores and a live webstream will be available at www.usacurl.org.


The 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games (WYOG) will take place Jan. 10-22 in Lausanne, Switzerland, and mark the third time that curling is contested. Twenty-four countries will compete in the mixed curling portion and then 48 teams will battle for medals in mixed doubles at Champéry Curling Arena in Champery, Switzerland. The U.S. team took home silver in team competition in 2016 and bronze in mixed doubles in 2012. To learn more about the 2020 WYOG, go to https://www.olympic.org/lausanne-2020.


Here is a look at the competing athletes at the 2020 WYOG Trials and their hometowns:


Team Wendling: Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.), Megan McPhee (Fitchburg), Jackson Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Clare Viau (Plover, Wis.)


Team Thurston: Coleman Thurston (Poynette, Wis.), Anna Tamboli (Portage, Wis.), Marius Kleinas (Marstons Mills, Mass.), Lara Katz (Weston, Conn.)


Team Scheel: Miranda Scheel (Fargo, N.D.), Jeffrey Fearon (Princeton Junction, N.J.), Ella Fleming (Bismarck, N.D.), Michael Phillips (Branchburg, N.J.)


Team Tuma: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Sara Olson (Duluth, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.), Anne O’Hara (Fairbanks, Alaska)


Team Kauffman: Connor Kauffman (Lynnwood, Wash.), Ari Rauliuk (Seattle), Nick Soto (Midland, Mich.), Rese Elza (Midland, Mich.)


Team Tan: Allison Tan (Bellevue, Wash.), Andrew Bell (Seattle), Abigail Lin (Edmonds, Wash.), Will Gerlach (West Falmouth, Mass.)


Team McDonald: Andrea McDonald (Phoenix, Ariz.), Nicholas Cenzalli (East Falmouth, Mass.), Isabel Sah (Broadview Heights, Ohio), Samuel Willertz (Midland, Mich.)


Team Salander: Maxwell Salander (Mendota, Ill.), Sophia Ryhorchuk (Hanover, Minn.), Logan Brandner (Mendota, Ill.), Faith Geake (Northbrook, Ill.)


Team Hebert: Ethan Hebert (Lowell, Mass.), Kaitlin Murphy (Fairview Park, Ohio), Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.), Alina Tschumakow (West Roxbury, Mass.)


Team Kassner: Max Kassner (Glenview, Ill.), Audrey Gottschild (Northbrook, Ill.), Koen Brown (Lake Forest, Ill.), Katharine Kassner (Glenview, Ill.)


Team Ponzio: Ryan Jamieson (Shoreview, Minn.), Christine Whear (Burnsville, Minn.), Kyan Ponzio (Savage, Minn.), Hannah Dolan (Crystal, Minn.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, Goldline, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, USA Curling, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 or 608-338-9900 (mobile) or via email at terry.davis@usacurl.org.