USA Curling Features Texas teams sweep go...

Texas teams sweep gold medals at 2019 Arena Nationals

By Terry L. Davis | May 11, 2019, 6:08 p.m. (ET)


May 11, 2019

Texas teams clinch 2019 Arena National Championships titles

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Teams from Texas swept the gold medals today as the 2019 USA Curling Arena National Championships came to a close at Ice Line Arena in West Chester, Pa.

Houston’s Merlin Howick and Dallas-Fort Worth’s Nick Myers rinks went undefeated to bring home the 2019 arena titles.

Howick and her team of Man-Fong Mah, Alyssa Parks, Sara Johnson, and Kelly Reynolds (all of Houston, Texas) were the team to beat all week and ended the tournament with a perfect 6-0 record after an 11-3 win over defending champion Katy Mercer of the Cleveland Skating Club. The Houston team made a statement in the opening end when they scored three points to show they meant business. Once they followed up with a steal of three points in the next end, Mercer and her team of Carole Negus (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), who won the title with Mercer last year, Audrey Lynn (University Heights, Ohio), Phyllis Webb (Shaker Heights, Ohio), and Peggy Savani (South Euclid, Ohio) were chasing for the next four ends of play. It is the first women’s title for the Curling Club of Houston.

Dallas-Fort Worth – winners of the event two previous times – got past Houston’s Christopher Doremus rink, which won the Arena Nationals two years ago. Myers (Arlington, Texas) and teammates Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas), John Lambert (Garland, Texas), and Stephen Kleppe (Denton, Texas) also got off to a strong start with three points in the opening end. Doremus (Victoria, Texas), and his team of Billy Reynolds (Houston), Carl Schaeper (Houston), and Jonathan Lee (Austin, Texas) could only muster single points each time they had hammer and could not overcome the fast start by their Texas counterparts in an eventual 8-3 loss.

In the bronze-medal games, Silicon Valley’s Diane Palme got past Wine Country’s Katie Feldman, 10-3, while Jonathan Penney led his Cincinnati rink to an 11-6 triumph over Cleveland Skating Club’s John Negus squad. All final scores and standings are posted at

The 2020 Arena National Championships will be contested April 26-May 2 at the Wyoming Center Spirit Hall Ice Arena to mark the first time Wyoming will host a major curling tournament.

Gold medalists:

Curling Club of Houston: Merlin Howick, Man-Fong Mah, Alyssa Parks, Sara Johnson, Kelly Reynolds (all of Houston, Texas)

Dallas-Forth Worth: Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas), John Lambert (Garland, Texas), Stephen Kleppe (Denton, Texas)

Silver medalists:

Cleveland: Kathryn Mercer (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Carole Negus (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Audrey Lynn (University Heights, Ohio), Phyllis Webb (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Peggy Savani (South Euclid, Ohio)

Curling Club of Houston: Christopher Doremus (Victoria, Texas), Billy Reynolds (Houston), Carl Schaeper (Houston), Jonathan Lee (Austin, Texas)

Bronze medalists:

Cincinnati: Jonathan Penney (West Chester, Ohio), Chuck Newcombe (West Chester, Ohio), Darrell Brown (Mason, Ohio), Philip Stafford (Loveland, Ohio)

Silicon Valley: Diane Palme (Woodside, Calif.), Amanda Chang (Santa Clara, Calif.), Melissa Wheeler (San Jose, Calif.), Mary Riordan (Palo Alto, Calif.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).