All Grand National final set at Mixed National Championship in Denver

By Terry L. Davis | March 30, 2019, 12:26 a.m. (ET)


March 29, 2019


Clawson, Pulli rinks to battle for 2019 Mixed National Championship title


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Teams led by 2017 mixed champion Hunter Clawson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and 2011 women’s national champion Caitlin Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.) are set to battle for the 2019 USA Curling Mixed National Championship title after leading their teams to semifinal wins tonight in Golden, Colo.


After a fourth-place finish last year, Pulli has guaranteed herself a medal this season with her team’s 8-6 triumph over Sean Murray’s Great Lakes rink. It was Murray’s team that kept Pulli off the podium last year in Lakeville, Minn.


Clawson’s team had to win a tiebreaker game this morning – 7-2 over Ben Richardson’s Wisconsin team – just to secure the final semifinal spot where they took on Evan Workin’s defending champions from the Dakota Territory region tonight. Clawson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and teammates Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), and Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.) scored a single point in an extra end to defeat Workin and advance to tomorrow’s gold-medal game at 2 p.m. at the Denver Curling Club.


Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.) and teammates Jeff Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.), Rebecca Andrew (Penfield, N.Y.), who won the mixed title in 2013, and Jason Scott (Rochester, N.Y.) used a big score in the fifth end and a steal of three in the sixth to hold off Murray’s team. The championship final will be an all Grand National region affair with both teams representing the same region. Clawson’s team defeated Pulli at the regional playdown to earn the right to be noted as GNCC1 for the competition.


Murray (St. Paul, Minn.) and his team of Stephanie Senneker (Port Huron, Mich.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), and Emilia Juocys (Lathrup Village, Mich.) will now take on Workin’s rink in the bronze-medal game, which also will take place at 2 p.m. tomorrow.


Follow along by watching the live webstream at In addition, live scores and standings are posted at


Line scores, semifinals:

*Workin             101 002 02 0 – 6

Clawson             010 210 20 1 – 7


Murray               001 200 3x – 6

*Pulli                   110 033 0x – 8

*last rock in first end


Gold-medal game:

Grand National 1: Hunter Clawson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and teammates Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), and Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.)


Grand National 2: Caitlin Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.), Jeff Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.), Rebecca Andrew (Penfield, N.Y.), Jason Scott (Rochester, N.Y.)



Bronze-medal game:

Great Lakes: Sean Murray (St. Paul, Minn.), Stephanie Senneker (Port Huron, Mich.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), Emilia Juocys (Lathrup Village, Mich.)


Dakota Territory: Evan Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Rachel Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Jordan Brown (Elk River, Minn.), Christina Lammers (Reiles Acres, N.D.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).