Two teams still perfect at Mixed National Championship in Denver

By Terry L. Davis | March 26, 2019, 9:36 a.m. (ET)

Cover photo by Michele Page


March 26, 2019


Round robin continues at 2019 Mixed National Championship


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Two teams remain perfect after two days of competition at the 2019 USA Curling Mixed National Championship at the Denver Curling Club in Golden, Colo.


Aaron Johnston’s local team and the defending champs from Fargo, N.D., led by Evan Workin, lead the round robin standings as they kept their rinks undefeated through Monday night.


Johnston (Greenwood, Colo.) and teammates Clare Moores (Denver), Lance Wheeler (Denver), and Miriam Moller (Westminster, Colo.) stole a point in the extra end to defeat David Durrant’s Midwest rink, 8-7, last night. The win improved the Denver Curling Club rink to 3-0.


Workin’s Dakota Territory team took down 2018 Olympic champion Tyler George and his Minnesota teammates, 9-1, to push their win streak to four straight. Workin and teammates Rachel Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Jordan Brown (Elk River, Minn.), and Christina Lammers (Reiles Acres, N.D.) had a 3-1 lead over George’s rink but then stole the remaining three ends to fuel the victory. Earlier in the day the Fargo rink handed Caitlin Pulli’s GNCC II rink its first loss.


Hunter Clawson’s GNCC 1 rink and Sean Murray’s team from the Great Lakes region are keeping pace with 2-1 records. Murray (St. Paul, Minn.) and his team of Stephanie Senneker (Port Huron, Mich.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), and Emilia Juocys (Lathrup Village, Mich.) shut out Doug Schaak’s Mountain Pacific rink, 8-0, to pick up win No. 2. Clawson’s rink picked up two wins on Monday after losing their opening match.


The round robin continues today with draws at 10 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. MT. Follow along by watching the live webstream at In addition, live scores and standings are posted at


Draw 5 scores: Johnston 8, Durrant 7; Workin 9, George 1; Richardson 10, Lee 3; Murray 8, Schaak 0



Dakota Territory (Evan Workin)                4-0

Mid-America (Aaron Johnston)                 3-0

Grand National II (Caitlin Pulli)                  3-1

Grand National I (Hunter Clawson)          2-1

Great Lakes (Sean Murray)                        2-1

Wisconsin (Ben Richardson)                      2-2

Minnesota (Tyler George)                          1-2

Midwest (David Durrant)                           1-3

Mountain Pacific (Doug Schaak)               0-4

Washington (Thomas Lee)                         0-4


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).