USA Curling Features Mixed National Champ...

Mixed National Championship begins Sunday in Denver

By Terry L. Davis | March 19, 2019, 11:58 a.m. (ET)


March 19, 2019


2019 Mixed National Championship begins this weekend in Denver


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Ten teams from across the United States are set to compete for the 2019 USA Curling Mixed National Championship title at the Denver Curling Club.


The first draw of action will be at 2:30 p.m. MT on Sunday with the competition going through March 30 in Golden, Colo. The winning team will become Team USA for the 2019 World Mixed Championship this fall (dates and site to be announced).


This year’s competing field features the defending champions from the Fargo-Moorhead Curling Club, 2018 Olympic champion Tyler George as well as national champions in multiple disciplines.


Evan Workin’s Fargo rink won the event last year in Lakeville, Minn., and represented the U.S. at the 2018 World Mixed Championship where they finished with a 3-5 record in Kelowna, Canada. George led his team to the Minnesota state title last month along with his sister and fellow Olympian Courtney George. Current junior national champion Ben Richardson won the Wisconsin regional event and is set to compete in his first mixed national championship.


The field also features several teams that have medalled in past mixed national events, including Sean Murray of the Great Lakes region. Murray defeated Caitlin Pulli (2010 women’s national champion) of the Grand National region in last year’s bronze-medal game. Newly crowned U18 national champion Sydney Mullaney also is competing with the other Grand National team in the field, which is skipped by Hunter Clawson. Teams from the Mid-America (Aaron Johnson), Midwest (David Durrant), Mountain Pacific (Doug Schaak), and Washington (Thomas Lee) regions round out the field of 10. Many of the 10 teams also feature athletes who recently competed in other national events this season from mixed doubles to last week’s Club Nationals.


A live webstream will be featured at In addition, live scores and standings will be available at


Here is a list of the competing teams and their hometowns:


Dakota Territory: Evan Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Rachel Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Jordan Brown (Elk River, Minn.), Christina Lammers (Reiles Acres, N.D.)


Grand National 1: Hunter Clawson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.)


Grand National 2: Caitlin Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.), Jeff Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.), Rebecca Andrew (Penfield, N.Y.), Jason Scott (Rochester, N.Y.)


Great Lakes: Sean Murray (St. Paul, Minn.), Stephanie Senneker (Port Huron, Mich.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), Emilia Juocys (Lathrup Village, Mich.)


Mid-America: Aaron Johnson (Greenwood, Colo.), Clare Moores (Denver), Lance Wheeler (Denver), Miriam Moller (Westminster, Colo.)


Midwest: David Durrant (Chicago), Sara Gaum (Chicago), Adam Miller (Chicago), Elisabeth Collins (Evanston, Ill.)


Minnesota: Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.), Courtney George (Minnetonka, Minn.), Derek Benson (Minnetonka, Minn.), Jordan Moulton (St. Louis Park, Minn.)


Mountain Pacific: Doug Schaak (Vancouver, Wash.), Elaine Smith-Koop (Salem, Ore.), Thomas Poon (Albany, Ore.), Rhiannon Avery (Nampa, Idaho)


Washington: Thomas Lee (Lynnwood, Wash.), Yiyoung Lee (Lynnwood, Wash.), Phil Shryock (Seattle), Jacqueline Clark (Redmond, Wash.)


Wisconsin: Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Jenna Burchesky (Eau Claire, Wis.), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), Allison Howell (Milwaukee, Wis.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).


Related Athletes

head shot

Evan Workin

head shot

Caitlin Pulli

head shot

Tyler George

head shot

Courtney George

head shot

Ben Richardson

head shot

Jon Harstad

head shot

Jenna Burchesky

head shot

Allison Howell

head shot

Sean Murray

head shot

Stephanie Senneker

head shot

Rebecca Andrew

head shot

Emilia Juocys