U18 National Championships underway in Chaska

By Terry L. Davis | March 15, 2019, 10:52 a.m. (ET)


March 15, 2019


2019 U18 National Championships continue in Chaska


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – With a full day of competition under their sliders, the 24 competing teams at the 2019 USA Curling U18 National Championships are ready for more in Chaska, Minn.


In boys competition, teams from the Grand National Curling Club of America region lead both pools as Danny Casper and Ethan Hebert both have their teams in first place with 2-0 records. Minnesota’s Kevin Tuma also is perfect in Pool B with Hebert’s squad. In Pool A, Dakota Territory’s Connal Murphy and Wisconsin’s Wes Wendling also won their first two games at Chaska Curling Center.


The women’s teams have all played one round robin game so far and they return to the ice this morning. In Pool A, teams skipped by Mae Hagenbuch, Anna Netteberg and Delaney Strouse all started out the competition strong. Meanwhile in Pool B, Susan Dudt, Sara Olson and Rachel Weldy have their teams out to the early front-runner position after securing opening-day wins.


The round robin continues today with four sessions of competition and runs through Saturday night to determine Sunday’s semi-finalists.


Standings (by region):

Pool A, Girls:

Mae Hagenbuch (Midwest)                       1-0

Anna Netteberg (Minnesota)                    1-0

Delaney Strouse (GLCA)                             1-0

Katherine Gourianova (GNCC)                  0-1

Samantha Jones (Wisconsin)                    0-1

Miranda Scheel (Dakota Territory)           0-1


Pool B, Girls:

Susan Dudt (GNCC)                                      1-0

Sara Olson (Minnesota, Host)                   1-0

Rachel Weldy (GLCA)                                  1-0

Demerie Black (Dakota Territory)             0-1

Andrea McDonald (MOPAC)                      0-1

Arianna Rauliuk (Washington)                  0-1


Pool A, Boys:

Danny Casper (GNCC)                                 2-0

Connal Murphy (Dakota Territory)           2-0

Wesley Wendling (Wisconsin)                  2-0

Jonathon Gaasvig (Minnesota)                 0-2

Nelson Rogers (MOPAC)                             0-2

Max Kassner (Midwest)                              0-2


Pool B, Boys:

Ethan Hebert (Grand National)                 2-0

Kevin Tuma (Minnesota)                            2-0

Connor Kauffman (Washington)               1-1

Sam Strouse (GLCA)                                    1-1

Ian Olson (Dakota Territory)                      0-2

Jase Wartgow (Minnesota, Host)             0-2


How to follow:

Live scores will be available online at www.usacurl.org throughout the event. The event hashtag is #2019U18Nats


Trophies and awards:


Trophies for the competition were donated by the family of the late Chris Moore, who served as president of USA Curling’s board of directors in 2008-09. Winners of the competition will represent the U.S. at the upcoming U18 Players Championship March 29-31 in Ontario. Funds from the Chris Moore Legacy Fund also help support Team USA at this international competition. At the conclusion of the event, the recipient of the Garland Legacie Spirit of Curling Award will be selected.


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile).