Club Nationals semifinals take place tonight

By Terry L. Davis | March 15, 2019, 5:41 p.m. (ET)


March 15, 2019


Men’s playoffs set at 2019 Club National Championships


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The Dan Schally rink secured the top men’s playoff spot at the 2019 USA Curling Club National Championships in Lakeville, Minn.


Schally’s team from the Madison Curling Club finished the round robin with a 7-2 record along with Ryan Berg’s Fargo-Moorhead rink. Michael Siggins led his team to a 9-4 win over fellow Coyotes Curling Club member Bob LeClair to also finish at 7-2 while LeClair’s squad grabbed the final playoff berth with a 5-4 record.


Madison will now take on Coyotes I while Fargo-Moorhead and Coyotes II battle in the other semifinal tonight at Dakota Curling.


In the women’s division, Duluth’s Jamie Kraus rink is the top seed with an 8-1 record. Kraus and her team of Kerry Hadiaris (Duluth, Minn.), Anna Bauman (Duluth, Minn.), and Jill Brozic (Duluth, Minn.) will now take on the winner of the tiebreaker match between Midland’s Debra Mason and Chicago’s Sara Gaum in the women’s semifinals. In the other playoff game, Madison’s Sydney Schmus will battle Jayne Burton’s Coyotes team. Both semifinals are set for 8 CT tonight.


A live webstream is available throughout the competition in addition to live scores and standings at


Game results, 8 a.m. (women): Kansas City 9, Madison II 8; Coyotes I 8, Coyotes II 7


Game results, 8 a.m. (men): Siggins 9, LeClair 4; Turner 10, Petrov 4


Standings: Women

Duluth (Jamie Kraus)                   8-1Q

Madison I (Sydney Schmus)       6-3Q

Coyotes I (Jayne Burton)             6-3Q

Chicago (Sara Gaum)                   6-3TB

Midland (Brenda Mason)            6-3TB

Detroit (Ann Swisshelm)             4-5

Madison II (Cynthia Rhyner)       3-6

Coyotes II (Debra Aubrey)          3-6

Plainfield (Patricia Heffner)        2-7

Kansas City (Sarah Wruck)          1-8


Standings: Men

Madison (Dan Schally)                 7-2Q

Fargo-Moorhead (Ryan Berg)     7-2Q

Coyotes II (Michael Siggins)        7-2Q

Coyotes I (Bob LeClair)                5-4Q

Plainfield (Ivo Petrov)                  4-5

Columbus (Andrew Turner)       4-5

St. Paul (Mark Willmert)             3-6

Granite (John Shoesmith)                      3-6

Exmoor (Jeff Wright)                   3-6

Denver (Darrick Kizlyk)                2-7

Q=qualified for semifinals


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).