Quarterfinals set at 2019 College National Championship

By Terry L. Davis | March 10, 2019, 8:37 a.m. (ET)


March 10, 2019


Quarterfinals set at 2019 College National Championship


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The round robin came to a close followed by two tiebreaker games to determine the final eight schools still in contention for the 2019 College Curling Championship title today in Wayland, Mass.


In Pool A, Blake Hagberg has his State University of New York Polytechnic Institute perfect at 3-0 after defeating past champions from the University of Minnesota, 8-5, yesterday at Broomstones. Also qualifying out of Pool A is Harvard’s Katherine Lou rink.


In Pool B, Nate Parry’s North Dakota State University (NDSU) rink went 3-0 to secure a playoff berth. Alex Hull’s local team from Massachusetts Institute of Technology went 2-1 to advance to tomorrow’s quarterfinals despite a shutout loss to NDSU today.


In Pool C, St. Norbert and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln earned quarterfinal spots while Rochester Institute of Technology won its tiebreaker match over Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute to also advance.


Yale University’s Patrick Huang rink got an outright spot in today’s quarterfinals but Megan Banaski’s defending champions from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (UWSP) had to defeat Harvard in a tiebreaker match to move on in hopes of defending the national title. Winners of the semifinals will advance to the semifinals at 3:30 p.m. ET. The championship final will take place at 7:30 p.m.


A live webstream and live scores will be posted at www.usacurl.org throughout the championship, which kicks off at 1 p.m. ET Friday.




Pool A:

SUNY-Poly                                      3-0Q

Harvard University                        2-1 (lost TB)

University of Minnesota              1-2

University of Oklahoma               0-3


Pool B:

North Dakota State University    3-0Q

MIT                                                  2-1Q

Bowdoin College                            1-2

Colgate University                         0-3


Pool C:

St. Norbert College                        2-1Q

University of Nebraska                 2-1Q

RIT                                                    2-1Q (won TB)

Hamilton College                           0-3


Pool D:

Yale University                               2-1Q

UW-Stevens Point                         2-1Q (won TB)

RPI                                                    2-1 (lost TB)

Syracuse University                       0-3

Q=qualified to quarterfinals


To learn more about the competing teams and host club, visit https://2019collegecurlingnationals.com.


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile).