2019 Club Nationals underway at Dakota Curling

By Terry L. Davis | March 10, 2019, 9:07 a.m. (ET)


March 10, 2019


2019 Club National Championships underway in Minnesota


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Twenty-three round robin draws will be played during the 2019 USA Curling Club National Championships in Lakeville, Minn.


The competition kicked off last night at Dakota Curling with two rounds now in the books. In the opening session, Fargo-Moorhead’s Ryan Berg rink defeated Denver’s Darrick Kizlyk, 8-4. St. Paul’s Mark Willmert rink got past Madison’s Dan Schally, 7-4. Michael Siggins led his Coyotes Curling Club team to a 9-4 triumph over Jeff Wright’s team from Exmoor while Andrew Turner’s team from the Columbus Curling Club swept past Granite’s John Shoesmith squad, 8-6.


In the night draw, three women’s teams took the ice with the two Madison (Wis.) teams facing off in their opening round robin draw. Cynthia Rhyner’s team would avenge their regional loss to Sydney Schmus’s rink, the 2016 Club Nationals champions, as they secured an 8-3 victory.


Duluth’s Jamie Kraus rink outlasted Plainfield’s Patricia Heffner rink, 10-9, while Chicago’s Sara Gaum squad got past Midland’s Brenda Mason, 10-4. In the lone men’s match last night, Plainfield’s Ivo Petrov led his team to an 8-6 win over Bob LeClair’s rink from Coyotes, 8-6.


Four draws of action are on tap today at 8 a.m., 12 p.m., 4 p.m., and 8 p.m. CT. A live webstream is available throughout the competition in addition to live scores and standings at www.usacurl.org.


Standings: Women

Chicago (Sara Gaum)                   1-0

Duluth (Jamie Kraus)                   1-0

Madison (Cynthia Rhyner)          1-0

Coyotes (Jayne Burton)               0-0

Coyotes (Debra Aubrey)             0-0

Detroit (Ann Swisshelm)             0-0

Kansas City (Sarah Wruck)          0-0

Madison (Sydney Schmus)         0-1

Midland (Brenda Mason)            0-1

Plainfield (Patricia Heffner)        0-1


Standings: Men

Columbus (Andrew Turner)       1-0

Coyotes (Michael Siggins)           1-0

Fargo-Moorhead (Ryan Berg)     1-0

Plainfield (Ivo Petrov)                  1-0

St. Paul (Mark Willmert)             1-0

Coyotes (Bob LeClair)                  0-1

Denver (Darrick Kizlyk)                0-1

Exmoor (Jeff Wright)                   0-1

Granite (John Shoesmith)                      0-1

Madison (Dan Schally)                 0-1


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile).