U18 National Championships begin Thursday in Chaska

By Terry L. Davis | March 09, 2019, 1:51 p.m. (ET)


March 9, 2019


2019 U18 National Championships begin Thursday in Chaska


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The top youths in the country will compete for national titles as the 2019 USA Curling U18 National Championships sweep into Chaska, Minn.


Twenty-four teams will compete at the six-sheet Chaska Curling Center, the National Training Center for USA Curling, beginning Thursday.


The teams will be placed into two pools of six teams each per gender for a preliminary round robin. The first draw of competition will take place at 12 p.m. Thursday and continue through March 16. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the playoffs on March 17. At last year’s championship, teams led by Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.) and Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) won the U18 titles. Both of those athletes are the current U21 champions and recently competed at the World Junior Championships. Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), the runner-up to Yavarow last year, is back this season with her team from the Grand National region looking to take a step to the top of the podium. Live scores will be available online at www.usacurl.org throughout the event.


Trophies for the competition were donated by the family of the late Chris Moore, who served as president of USA Curling’s board of directors in 2008-09. Winners of the competition will represent the U.S. at the upcoming U18 Players Championship March 29-31 in Ontario. Funds from the Chris Moore Legacy Fund also help support Team USA at this international competition. At the conclusion of the event, recipients of the Garland Legacie Spirit of Curling Award will be presented.


Here is a look at the 2019 U18 National Championships competing teams and regions they are representing:


Pool A, Girls:

Dakota Territory: Miranda Scheel (Fargo, N.D.), Ella Fleming (Bismarck, N.D.), Denita Helm (Mandan, N.D.), Tessa Thurlow (Fargo, N.D.), Rilee Kraft (Bismarck, N.D.)


Great Lakes: Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Kaitlin Murphy (Fairview Park, Ohio), Hannah MacRaild (Independence, Ohio), Isabel Sah (Broadview Heights, Ohio), Kaya Ray (Fort Wayne, Ind.)


Grand National: Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Diana Black (Burtonsville, Md.), Odessa Howera (Columbia, Md.), Abigail Schulken (Falls Church, Md.), Isabella Schulken (Falls Church, Md.)


Midwest: Mae Hagenbuch (Utica, Ill.), Genevieve Salander (Mendota, Ill.), Bella Hagenbuch (Utica, Ill.), Liberty Salander (Mendota, Ill.)


Minnesota: Anna Netteberg (Roseville, Minn.), Braelee Mueller (Apple Valley, Minn.), Jordan Lang (Lakeville, Minn.), Olivia Mangan (Lakeville, Minn.), Carly Setter (Lakeville, Minn.)


Wisconsin: Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.), Abigail Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Elizabeth Vorpahl (Portage, Wis.), Anna Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Halie Maier (Endeavor, Wis.)


Pool B, Girls:


Dakota Territory: Demerie Black (Bismarck, N.D.), Lexie Donner (Lincoln, N.D.), Emma Vannett (Bismarck, N.D.), Molly Anderson (Bismarck, N.D.), Claire Kozojed (Mandan, N.D.)


Grand National: Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.), Nadezhda Tschumakow (Boston), Alina Tschumakow (Boston)


Great Lakes: Rachel Weldy, Lauren Thill, Rese Elza, Maitea Cox (all of Midland, Mich.)


Minnesota (host club team): Sara Olson (Duluth, Minn.), Maggie Payette (Duluth, Minn.), Abigail Page (Mankato, Minn.), Damaris Berg (Bemidji, Minn.)


Mountain Pacific: Andrea McDonald (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Meghan Taylor (Portland, Ore.), Lehua Morley (Portland, Ore.), Emily McClaughry (Portland, Ore.)


Washington: Arianna Rauliuk (Seattle), Abigail Lin (Edmonds, Wash.), Allison Tan (Bellevue, Wash.), Amelia Tan (Bellevue, Wash.), Mari Torii-Karch (Seattle)


Pool A, Boys:


Dakota Territory: Connal Murphy, Logan Lies, Jake Holt, Cayden Kraft, Zachary Brenden (all of Bismarck, N.D.)


Grand National: Danny Casper (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Marius Kleinas (Marstons Mills, Mass.), Brice Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Benjamin Grady (Media, Pa.)


Minnesota: Jonathon Gaasvig (Bemidji, Minn.), Daniel Murray (Nisswa, Minn.), Shawn Quello (Bemidji, Minn.), Seth Solo (Bemidji, Minn.)


Mountain Pacific: Nelson Rogers (Lafayette, Calif.), Brian Feldman (Sacramento, Calif.), Jason Altus (Campbell, Calif.), Oliver Chally (Portland, Ore.), Zachary Gabrielson (Los Altos, Calif.)


Midwest: Max Kassner (Glenview, Ill.), Nicholas Schallmo (Highland Park, Ill.), Koen Brown (Lake Forest, Ill.), William Ortell (Lake Forest, Ill.)


Wisconsin: Wesley Wendling (Wausau, Wis.), John Wilkerson (Kronenwetter, Wis.), Christopher Kirsch (Wausau, Wis.), Jackson Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.)


Pool B, Boys:


Dakota Territory: Ian Olson (Horace, N.D.), Jacob Pfeifer (Horace, N.D.), Keaton Amb (Fargo, N.D.), Seth Benson (West Fargo, N.D.)


Grand National: Ethan Hebert (Lowell, Mass.), Caleb Gartner (Falmouth, Mass.), William Gerlach (East Falmouth, Mass.), Shaheen Bassiri (Radnor, Mass.), Nicholas Cenzalli (East Falmouth, Mass.)


Great Lakes: Sam Strouse, Austin Carlson, Nick Soto, Sam Willertz (all of Midland, Mich.)


Minnesota (host club team): Jase Wartgow (Victoria, Minn.), Timothy Kurzhal (Victoria, Minn.), Morgan Anderson (Elko, Minn.), Zachary Reiff (Victoria, Minn.)


Minnesota: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.), Samuel Clasen (Roseville, Minn.)


Washington: Connor Kauffman (Lynnwood, Wash.), Alexander Couckuyt (Bothell, Wash.), Andrew Bell (Seattle), Arjun Thomas (Shoreline, Wash.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile).