USA Curling Features Margie Smith rink wi...

Margie Smith rink wins 2019 Senior Women's National Championship

March 03, 2019, 1:19 p.m. (ET)


March 3, 2019


Smith rink repeats as Senior Women’s National champion


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Margie Smith has led her team to back-to-back senior women’s national championship titles after going undefeated for the second straight year.


With a 6-3 win this morning over Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.), Smith and teammates Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), Debbie Dexter (St. Paul, Minn.) and Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.) concluded the 2019 USA Curling Senior Women’s National Championship with a perfect 5-0 record to win the title at the Portage Curling Club in Portage, Wis.


They had to wait an extra 15 minutes, however, as 2017 champion Tracy Lawless still had a chance to force a tiebreaker game against Smith in the double knockout format. Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.), however, would score a point in an extra end to hand Lawless and her team its second loss of the weekend.


It is the fifth senior women’s title for longtime teammates Smith and Dexter and fourth for O’Leary and Kosal, who won silver at the 2018 World Senior Championships together last season. The Smith rink will now represent the United States at the 2019 World Senior Championships April 20-27 in Stavanger, Norway.


The 2019 USA Curling Senior Men’s National Championship has been whittled down to two teams – four-time champion Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) and 2018 semifinalist Phil DeVore (Superior, Wis.). The six-day bracketed competition saw Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) and teammates Mike Fraboni (Lac du Flambeau, Wis.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), Pete Westberg (Woodbury, Minn.), and Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.) win three of the four qualifying spots to make the playoffs a two-team event versus a maximum four-team playoff.


Team Goodland is currently 8-0 and will meet DeVore’s team (7-2) at 2 p.m. If Goodland comes out victorious, they will be named senior national champions. Should Goodland’s team lose at 2 p.m., a second final will take place at 7 p.m. – winner take all.


DeVore (Superior, Wis.) and his team of Jeff Laundergan (Esko, Minn.), Rory Ellingson (Cambridge, Minn.), and Jeff Heikkila (Duluth, Minn.) defeated 2015 national champion and world gold medalist Lyle Sieg this morning, 8-7, at the Heather Curling Club in Mapleton, Minn. Goodland’s team knocked out 2010 world champion Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.) when they secured a 7-4 win.


See how the championship plays out and who will join Team Smith at the 2019 World Seniors via the live webstream from the Heather Curling Club today at


Women’s final round robin standings:

Margie Smith                   5-0 (champion)

Tracy Lawless                   3-2

Patti Lank                         3-2

Debra Horn                      2-3

Kim Wapola                     1-4

Beth Bohlman                 1-4


To learn more about the Senior National Championships and view past winners, go to


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Margie Smith

head shot

Norma O'Leary

head shot

Debbie Dexter

head shot

Shelly Kosal