USA Curling Features Goodland rink captur...

Goodland rink captures senior mens national title

March 03, 2019, 5:56 p.m. (ET)


March 3, 2019


Goodland rink captures Senior Men’s National Championship title


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – A perfect week came to a close with a fifth senior men’s national title for Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) at the 2019 USA Curling Senior Men’s National Championship in Mapleton, Minn.


Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) and teammates Mike Fraboni (Lac du Flambeau, Wis.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), Pete Westberg (Woodbury, Minn.), and Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.) finished the competition with a 9-0 record after defeating Phil DeVore’s Duluth team today by a 7-4 score.


They will now represent the United States at the 2019 World Senior Championships April 20-27 in Stavanger, Norway, along with the Margie Smith rink, which won the senior women’s title earlier today in Portage, Wis.


It is the fifth senior title for Goodland, 63, who sat out the championship final today with Birr in at skip, and third for Westberg, who also won in 2017 and 2016. It is the second title for Fraboni, who last won in 2008, and first for Birr and Wiza.


The game was close until the second half when Goodland’s team hung five points on the scoreboard. DeVore (Superior, Wis.) and his team of Jeff Laundergan (Esko, Minn.), Rory Ellingson (Cambridge, Minn.), and Jeff Heikkila (Duluth, Minn.) had a slim 3-2 lead prior to that. After limiting DeVore to a single point in the sixth end, Goodland’s group methodically kept the house empty to blank the seventh and ran DeVore’s team out of rocks in the eighth for the win at the Heather Curling Club.


Line score, men’s championship game:

*Geoff Goodland            110 050 0x – 7

Phil DeVore                      002 101 0x – 4

*last rock in first end


Men’s champions: Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.), Mike Fraboni (Lac du Flambeau, Wis.), Dan Wiza (Waunakee, Wis.), Pete Westberg (Woodbury, Minn.), Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.)


Women’s champions: Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.), Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), Debbie Dexter (St. Paul, Minn.) and Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.)


To learn more about the Senior National Championships and view past winners, go to


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Toyota, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Todd Birr

head shot

Mike Fraboni

head shot

Geoff Goodland

head shot

Pete Westberg