USA Curling Features Playoff field offici...

Playoff field officially set at Junior Nationals

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 17, 2019, 10:10 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 17, 2019

Women’s playoffs now set at 2019 Junior Nationals

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The final round robin session of the 2019 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Two Harbors, Minn., created a clear playoff picture as the field is officially set.

Annmarie Dubberstein’s team qualified earlier today and added a 10-1 win over Mackenzie Page’s team to finish the round robin with a 6-1 record. By winning the round robin outright, Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.) and her team of Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), and Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio) move directly into Saturday’s championship final.

Teams skipped by Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.) and Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska) will compete in a single semifinal match to determine the other finalist. Flannery (Mankato, Minn.) and teammates Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Lexi Lanigan (Duluth, Minn.), and Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.) stole singles in the final two ends to defeat Abbey Kitchens, 6-4, and finish the round robin in second place. Traxler and her team of Emily Quello (Bemidji, Minn.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), and Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.) needed an extra end to clinch their playoff spot as they defeated the Elizabeth Cousins rink, 7-6.

The men’s semifinal between the Andrew McDonald and Skyler Slusar rinks will take place at 7 p.m. Friday. The winning team moves on to face Andrew Stopera’s two-time defending champions.

The round robin continues today at 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. CT. If needed, tiebreaker games would follow tonight and/or tomorrow morning. Live scores and a live webstream are linked at

Women’s results (4 p.m. today): Dubberstein 10, Page 1; Traxler 7, Cousins 6 (extra end); Flannery 6, Kitchens 4; Jones 8, Viau 6

Women’s standings:

Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.     6-1Q (advances to final)

Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.)                5-2Q

Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska)               4-3Q

Elizabeth Cousins (Medfield, Mass.)        3-4

Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.)           3-4

Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.)            3-4

Mackenzie Page (Burnsville, Minn.)         2-5

Suzanna Viau (Plover, Wis.)                       2-5

Men’s standings:

Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) 7-0Q (advances to final)

Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio)          6-1Q

Skyler Slusar (Hallock, Minn.)                   5-2Q

Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.)               4-3

Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.)        2-5

Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.)                     2-5

Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.)                 2-5

Tyler Hipke (Wauwatosa, Wis.)                 0-7

Q=Qualified to playoffs

Playoff teams – men:

Team McDonald:Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio), JP Munich (Oconomowoc, Wis.), Sam Strouse (Midland, Mich.) [throws last stones], Ryan Elwing (Brookfield, Wis.)

Team Slusar: Skyler Slusar (Hallock, Minn.), Nick Steinhaus (Mapleton, Minn.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Mitch Wilson (Delafield, Wis.)

Team Stopera: Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

Playoff teams – women:

Team Dubberstein: Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio)

Team Flannery: Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Lexi Lanigan (Duluth, Minn.), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Traxler: Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska), Emily Quello (Bemidji, Minn.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.)

What’s at stake:

The winners of the Junior Nationals will represent the U.S. at the 2019 World Junior Championships Feb. 16-24 in Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada.


There is a double loss provision in place for Team Stopera after they finished the round robin undefeated. The first championship game will be played at 9 a.m. If needed, a second final will played at 1 p.m. if Team Stopera loses that first game. No women’s team is undefeated so it is winner take all in the championship final on Saturday at 1 p.m.


At the conclusion of the event the Curtis Cup for Sportsmanship Awards will be presented to a female and male team. In addition, the Katie Beck Memorial Award will be presented to an outstanding player competing in the second position. New this year is the Bev Schroeder Memorial Junior Curling Awards, which will be presented to two outstanding Junior Nationals rookies (one female, one male). The award honors the late Bev Schroeder, who coached the women’s team to the Junior Nationals gold medal the past two seasons and coached many other junior teams over three decades. A scholarship fund – separate from the Junior Nationals awards – was created in December. More details about how to apply for the college scholarships will be available soon at

Social media:



More information about the 2019 Junior Nationals can be found at and

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Annmarie Dubberstein

head shot

Cait Flannery

head shot

Ariel Traxler