Home USA Curling Features Five teams still per...

Five teams still perfect at Junior Nationals

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 15, 2019, 2:52 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 15, 2019

Five undefeated teams remain at 2019 Junior National Championships underway in Two Harbors

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Five teams remain perfect in round robin play as the 2019 USA Curling Junior National Championships continue in Two Harbors, Minn.

The men’s field is led by the defending champion Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Skyler Slusar (Hallock, Minn.) and Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio) with perfect 3-0 records with four games remaining in the round robin. In this morning’s competition at the Two Harbors Curling Club, McDonald and his team of JP Munich (Oconomowoc, Wis.), Sam Strouse (Midland, Mich.), and Ryan Elwing (Brookfield, Wis.) stayed perfect with a key 8-4 win over Chase Sinnett’s rink. The Slusar team earned an 8-3 victory over Charlie Thompson’s team as they controlled the scoreboard throughout the game. Stopera’s rink overcame an early deficit to defeat Tyler Hipke’s team, 7-5.

In last night’s women’s competition, Annmarie Dubberstein and Cait Flannery kept their teams perfect to share the lead for first place. Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.) and teammates Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), and Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio) held off a late rally from Ariel Traxler’s team to earn an 8-7 victory and improve to 2-0 in the seven-game round robin. Flannery (Mankato, Minn.) and her team of Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Lexi Lanigan (Duluth, Minn.), and Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.) kept pace with a 9-7 triumph over Suzanna Viau’s rink. Samantha Jones led her Wisconsin teammates into the win column as they got past Abbey Kitchens, 10-3. Likewise, Mackenzie Page's team secured an 11-8 win over Elizabeth Cousins to even their record at 1-1. The women return to the ice at 2:30 p.m. CT today while the men are back in action at 7 tonight. Live scores and a live webstream are linked at www.usacurl.org.

Draw 5 men’s results (10 a.m. today): Wendling 6, Tuma 5; Thompson 8, Slusar 3; McDonald 8, Sinnett 4; Stopera 7, Hipke 5

Draw 4 women’s results (8 p.m. Monday): Dubberstein 8, Traxler 7; Page 11, Cousins 8; Flannery 9, Viau 7; Jones 10, Kitchens 3

Draw 3 men’s results (4 p.m. Monday): Slusar 6, Tuma 4; McDonald 8, Hipke 7 (extra end); Stopera 6, Sinnett 5; Thompson 10, Wendling 6

Women’s standings:

Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.)   2-0

Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.)                2-0

Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.)            1-1

Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.)           1-1

Mackenzie Page (Burnsville, Minn.)    1-1

Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska)               1-1

Elizabeth Cousins (Medfield, Mass.)        0-2

Suzanna Viau (Plover, Wis.)                       0-2

Men’s standings:

Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio)          3-0

Nick Steinhaus ( Mapleton, Minn.)           3-0

Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) 3-0

Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.)               1-2

Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.)        1-2

Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.)                 1-2

Tyler Hipke (Wauwatosa, Wis.)                 0-3

Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.)                     0-3

What’s at stake:

The winners of the Junior Nationals will represent the U.S. at the 2019 World Junior Championships Feb. 16-24 in Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada.


After the round robin concludes, a modified Page playoff will take place. If there is a clear winner of the round robin – at least one win ahead of any other team – that team will advance directly to the championship final. If two or three teams are tied for first place after the round robin, then the team the top two seeds squaring off in a game with the winner advancing to the championship final. The losing side will then take on the No. 3 playoff seed in a single semifinal match to determine the other finalist. If four teams end up tied for first place after the round robin concludes, all four will advance to the playoffs and be seeded for traditional semifinal games with the winners of those games moving on to the gold-medal match. In the rare scenario where more than four teams are tied for first place, tiebreaker games would be played to reduce the playoff field to four teams.

There is a double loss provision in place so if an undefeated team advances to the final, the first championship game will be played at 9 a.m. with a second final played at 1 p.m. if the undefeated team loses that first game.


At the conclusion of the event the Curtis Cup for Sportsmanship Awards will be presented to a female and male team. In addition, the Katie Beck Memorial Award will be presented to an outstanding player competing in the second position. New this year is the Bev Schroeder Memorial Junior Curling Awards, which will be presented to two outstanding Junior Nationals rookies (one female, one male). The award honors the late Bev Schroeder, who coached the women’s team to the Junior Nationals gold medal the past two seasons and coached many other junior teams over three decades. A scholarship fund – separate from the Junior Nationals awards – was created in December. More details about how to apply for the college scholarships will be available soon at www.usacurl.org.

Social media:



More information about the 2019 Junior Nationals can be found at https://go.teamusa.org/2yeW6t0 and http://twoharborscurling.com/2019-junior-nationals/.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Andrew McDonald

head shot

Andrew Stopera

head shot

Nick Steinhaus