Ladies field for 2019 National Championships nearly set

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 06, 2019, 5:18 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 6, 2019


Women’s Challenge Round concludes with three more teams qualifying to 2019 National Championships


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Women’s teams skipped by Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.), Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.) have qualified to next month’s 2019 USA Curling National Championships as the Women’s Challenge Round concluded today at the Itasca Curling Club.


Podoll finished the round robin with the top record at 4-1 in Grand Rapids, Minn. A three-way tie for second place created the need for a tiebreaker game to be played. Rhyme’s team was advanced based on best head-to-head record amongst the tied teams leaving Dubberstein to battle Cait Flannery’s fellow Junior High Performance Program team. Dubberstein’s rink would steal a point in an extra end to advance to next month’s Nationals in Kalamazoo. The two sides will meet again later this month as both teams are qualified to compete in the 2019 Junior National Championships, Jan. 13-19.


The final two men’s berths will be determined tonight. Steve Birklid and Jed Brundidge are currently battling in the final of the B side of the bracket. The winner will qualify to Nationals while the loser will drop to the C final for one last chance. Teams skipped by Brandon Corbett and Olympian Jason Smith also are currently battling to determine which side will stay alive and play in the C bracket final at 7 CT tonight. Live scores and a live webstream from the men’s event are posted at


Teams still in contention to qualify to the 2019 National Championships:


Team Birklid: Steve Birklid (Mountlake Terrace, Wash.), Sam Galey (Seattle), Matt Birklid (Shoreline, Wash.), Nick Connolly (Seattle)


Team Brundidge: Jed Brundidge (West St. Paul, Minn.), Jordan Brown (Elk River, Minn.), Evan Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Cameron Rittenour (Sioux Falls, S.D.)


Team Corbett: Brandon Corbett (Rochester, N.Y.), Derek Corbett (Syracuse, N.Y.), Kent Suslavich (Woodbury, Conn.), Aaron Carlson (East Lansing, Mich.)


Team Smith: Jason Smith (St. Paul, Minn.), Matt Carlson (Mounds View, Minn.), Dan Ruehl (Plymouth, Minn.), Tim Solin (Mahtomedi, Minn.)


Teams already qualified to compete in the 2019 National Championships:



Team Christensen: Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.), Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Martin (Wauwatosa, Wis.), Madison Bear (Pardeeville, Wis.)


Team Dubberstein: Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), Allison Howell (Chagrin Falls, Ohio)


Team Podoll: Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.), Carissa Thomas (Moorhead, Minn.), Rachel Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Christina Lammers (Reiles Acres, N.D.)


Team Rhyme: Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.), Katie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), Katie Rhyme (Brown Deer, Wis.), Amy Harnden (Blaine, Minn.)


Team Roth: Nina Roth (McFarland, Wis.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.)


Team Senneker: Stephanie Senneker (Port Huron, Mich.), Rebecca Andrew (West Henrietta, N.Y.), Emilia Juocys (Lathrup Village, Mich.), Maya Willertz (Midland, Mich.)


Team Sinclair: Jamie Sinclair (Manotick, Ontario), Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Monica Walker (St. Paul, Minn.)




Team Birr: Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.), Hunter Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Greg Johnson (Appleton, Wis.), Tom O’Connor (Brooklyn Center, Minn.)


Team Dunnam: Scott Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.), Cody Clouser (Berwyn, Pa.), Daniel Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Andrew Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.)


Team Fenner: Mark Fenner (Bemidji, Minn.), Tom Howell (Milwaukee, Wis.), Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.), Alex Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)


Team Ruohonen: Rich Ruohonen (Brooklyn Park, Minn.), Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Colin Hufman (Minneapolis, Minn.), Phil Tilker (Seattle)


Team Shuster: John Shuster (Superior, Wis.), Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Matt Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.)


Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)


Team Stopera: Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)


The final men’s and women’s berths are reserved for a Junior High Performance Program team and will be announced later this month.


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, BroomsUp Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).