USA Curling Features USA falls in playoff...

USA falls in playoffs of World Junior B

Dec. 17, 2019, 1:47 p.m. (ET)


Dec. 17, 2019 


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – A team from the United States will not compete in World Junior Women’s Championship for the first time since the event began in 1988.


Cora Farrell and the U.S. women had a rough evening in the opening round of the playoffs at the Kisakallio Sports Institute, falling to Latvia, 8-1, to be eliminated from contention in Lohja, Finland.


Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska) and her team of Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Allison Howell (Bentleyville, Ohio), and Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.) went 4-1 in the round robin and earned the No. 4 playoff seed to take on No. 5 Latvia, skipped by Evelina Barone, today. It was Latvia, however, that got off to a fast start scoring three points in the opening end and stealing a single in the following end to take control of the eight-end match. After being held to a single point in the fourth end, it was an uphill battle for the U.S. ladies as they never got on the scoreboard again.


Latvia, Hungary, Japan, and Denmark will battle tomorrow for the three women’s berths to the 2020 World Junior Championships in February in Siberia. The U.S. men have already qualified to compete in the 2020 World Juniors based on last year’s fifth-place finish. The U.S. women were eighth and relegated to compete this week at the World Junior B Championships. The U.S. men missed competing in the World Juniors in 2003 and 2004.


To follow along, go to


Line score:

*Latvia  310 011 2x – 8

USA       000 100 0x – 1

*last rock in first end


Other quarterfinal scores:

Japan 7, Italy 1

Hungary 4, Czech Republic 3

Denmark 5, New Zealand 4


Semifinal matchups:

Hungary vs. Latvia

Japan vs. Denmark


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Brakebush, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, Twin Cities Orthopedics, and Volt, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Cora Farrell

head shot

Cait Flannery

head shot

Allison Howell

head shot

Rebecca Miles

head shot

Leah Yavarow