First nine teams qualify to 2020 Nationals

Dec. 04, 2019, 4:56 p.m. (ET)

Men’s and Women’s U.S. National Qualifiers

The top five men’s teams and top four women’s teams in the WCF World Team Ranking System on December 2nd will advance to the 2020 USA Curling National Championships. Those teams include the following:

Men’s Standings                                                        Women’s Standings 

1. Team Dropkin                                                        1. Team Roth                        

2. Team Ruohonen                                                    2. Team Sinclair                       

3. Team Shuster                                                        3. Team Rhyme                       

4. Team Dunnam                                                       4. Team Potter                       

5. Team Birr                                                  

NOTE: Any men’s or women’s team that wins the 2020 National Championships and is ranked 70th or higher in the WCF World Team Ranking System or has earned 60 points year to date as of Jan 31, 2020, will be named Team USA for the Men’s/Women’s World Championships.

Bonuses for teams outside of the High Performance Program


The USCA will provide a performance bonus of $5,000 (tournament funding) to the top-ranked men’s team and top-ranked women’s team not in the USCA High Performance Program on the Order of Merit Year-to-Date as of Dec. 31, 2019. The USCA will also continue to provide $5,000 in tournament funding to the two teams (one men’s and one women’s) who win the National Championships for the purpose of competing in the Champions Cup Grand Slam. If the eligible team(s) decline(s) to compete in the Champions Cup Grand Slam, that funding will be forfeited.


Full rosters:

Qualified teams, 2020 USA Curling National Championships:


Team Peterson (Roth): Tabitha Peterson (St. Paul, Minn.), Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Aileen Geving (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Sinclair: Jamie Sinclair (Osgoode, Ontario), Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.), Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.)

Team Potter: Cassie Potter (St. Paul, Minn.), Courtney George (Minnetonka, Minn.), Jackie Lemke (Medford, Wis.), Jordan Moulton (St. Louis Park, Minn.)

Team Rhyme: Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.), Elizabeth Brundadge (Allston, Mass.), Katie Rhyme (Brown Deer, Wis.), Amy Harnden (Blaine, Minn.)


Team Dropkin: Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.), Tom Howell (Milwaukee, Wis.), Mark Fenner (Bemidji, Minn.), Alex Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Ruohonen: Rich Ruohonen (Brooklyn Park, Minn.), Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Colin Hufman (Minneapolis, Minn.), Phil Tilker (Seattle), Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.)

Team Shuster: John Shuster (Superior, Wis.), Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Matt Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Dunnam: Scott Dunnam (Philadelphia, Pa.), Alex Leichter (Boston, Mass.), Cody Clouser (Berwyn, Pa.), Andrew Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.), Daniel Dudt (Malvern, Pa.)

Team Birr: Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.), Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Hunter Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Tom O’Connor (Brooklyn Center, Minn.)