USA Curling Features National wheelchair ...

National wheelchair curling team named

By Terry L. Davis | Nov. 04, 2018, 3:44 p.m. (ET)


Nov. 4, 2018

Eight athletes selected to national wheelchair team


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – USA Curling’s eight-athlete national wheelchair team was announced today in Wausau, Wis., after three days of competition at the Wausau Curling Club.


The 2018 National Wheelchair Team Trials concluded with a new look team led by two athletes who competed for Team USA at the 2018 Paralympics in South Korea – Steve  Emt (Hebron, Conn.) and Meghan Lino (East Falmouth, Mass.), who also was a member of the 2014 Paralympic team. The other six selected athletes include Matthew Thums (Wausau, Wis.) and Pam Wilson (Westminster, Colo.), who were on the national team last season, as well as Oyuna Uranchimeg (Burnsville, Minn.), Shawn Sadowski (Portage, Wis.), David Samsa (Suamico, Wis.), and Ken White (Sutton, Mass.).


Four additional athletes were named to the development team, including Caroline Knox (East Falmouth, Mass.), Jesi Stracham (Charlotte, N.C.), Doug Mielke (Mosinee, Wis.), and Jeff Snover (Lake City, Mich.).


The five athletes selected to become Team USA and compete in the 2019 World Wheelchair Championship March 3-10 in Stirling, Scotland, will be named in the coming weeks.


More information regarding the Wheelchair Curling National Program can be found at


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Stephen Emt

head shot

Meghan Lino