Cousins and Tuma rinks qualify to 2019 Junior Nationals

Nov. 04, 2018, 12:09 p.m. (ET)


Nov. 4, 2018

Two more teams qualify for 2019 Junior National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Two more teams punched their tickets to the 2019 USA Curling Junior National Championships as the second qualifying event came to a close today at the Potomac Curling Club in Laurel, Md.

Teams skipped by Elizabeth Cousins (Medfield, Mass.) and Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.) grabbed the two available berths to January’s Junior National Championships.

Cousins (Medfield, Mass.) and teammates Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Elizabeth Janiak (Nashua, N.H.), and Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.) defeated the Diana Black rink in a best-of-five competition. Tuma and his team of Sam Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.), and Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.) went 3-1 in a three-team competition.

The 2019 Junior Nationals will take place Jan. 13-19 at the Two Harbors Curling Club in Two Harbors, Minn., and feature eight women’s and eight men’s teams. The third qualifier will take place Nov. 9-11 at the Capital Curling Club in Bismarck, N.D., with the final opportunity taking place at Portage Curling Club Dec. 7-9 in Portage, Wis. More information on the Junior Nationals can be found at

Below is a list of the qualified teams for the 2019 Junior Nationals:


Team Dubberstein: Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio)

Team Flannery: Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Lexi Lanigan (Duluth, Minn.), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.)

Team Normandeau: Anya Normandeau (Burnsville, Minn.), Mackenzie Page (Mankato, Minn.), Abigail Page (Mankato, Minn.), Celeste Taylor (Wausau, Wis.)

Team Traxler: Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska), Emily Quello (Bemidji, Minn.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.)

Team Cousins: Elizabeth Cousins (Medfield, Mass.), Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.), Elizabeth Janiak (Nashua, N.H.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.)


Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)

Team Steinhaus: Nick Steinhaus (Mapleton, Minn.), Skyler Slusar (Hallock, Minn.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Mitch Wilson (Delafield, Wis.)

Team Stopera: Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

Team Wendling: Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.), John Wilkerson (Kronenwetter, Wis.), Mitch Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Jackson Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.)

Team Tuma: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Sam Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).