Home USA Curling Features Junior HPP athletes ...

Junior HPP athletes announced

By Dave Jensen | May 07, 2018, 10:19 a.m. (ET)

I’m pleased to announce the Junior HPP athlete selections for the 2018-19 season.

Joining the current Pool of junior HPP athletes are:

  • Leah Yavarow – Bemidji, MN
  • Eli Clawson - Clarksville, MD
  • Trevor Marquardt – Poynette, Wi
  • Riley Fenson - Bemidji, MN

Leah will be a senior at Bemidji High and will join the team of Cait Flannery, Lexi Lanigan, and Rebecca Miles. Team coach is Bill Rhyme.

Eli will be a freshman at Howard Community College, and Trevor will be a freshman at the University of Minnesota. Both will join Chase Sinnett, Jon Harstad, and coach Keith Dropkin.

Riley will continue to live in Bemidji and will join Andrew Stopera, Luc Violette, Ben Richardson, and Graem Fenson. Coach of team Stopera is Mark Lazar.

This year Cora Farrell joins Annmarie Dubberstein, Jenna Burchesky, and Allison Howell. Wayne Anderson joins the team this year as coach.

We also say goodbye to Andy Dunnam, Nick Connolly, and Madison Bear who aged out of juniors this past season. A special thanks goes to Bev Schroeder who is retiring from her Junior HPP coaching post. Bev successfully guided her junior women’s teams to two consecutive Junior National titles, finishing 7th and 5th at the World Junior Championships. Well done, Bev!

This year 28 well qualified applicants expressed a desire to join the Junior High Performance Program.  The high quality of these applicants is a testament to the dedication that juniors are making to competitive curling.  While the pool of quality athletes makes  the selection process more challenging, it’s an encouraging sign of a bright future for USA Curling.  

Related Athletes

head shot

Trevor Marquardt

head shot

Leah Yavarow