Dallas-Fort Worth and Cleveland Skating Club win 2018 Arena Nationals

By Terry L. Davis | May 06, 2018, 5:33 p.m. (ET)


May 6, 2018

Cleveland, Dallas-Fort Worth rinks win 2018 Arena National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – A new women’s champion and the event’s first repeat winners emerged on the final day of the 2018 USA Curling Arena National Championships in Salt Lake City.

Cleveland Skating Club’s Kathryn Mercer and Jeffrey Knott’s Dallas-Fort Worth rinks came out on top in this afternoon’s gold-medal games at the Utah Olympic Oval. Mercer, a law professor, and her team of Carole Negus (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Rebecca Storey (Cleveland Heights, Ohio), and Elizabeth Feighan (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) defeated Kansas City’s Sarah Wruck, 8-3, to earn their first title. It was the lone loss for Wruck’s team, which went undefeated through the round robin and earned a first round playoff bye. Cleveland scored five points in the first three ends to manage the scoreboard while limited Kansas City to a single in the second end. The teams exchanged deuces over the next two ends but it was all Cleveland after that.

For Knott (Dallas) and teammates Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas), and John Lambert (Garland, Texas) it is the second title after the group of five won the championship back in 2015. Knott’s team took control early over Richard Lazarowich’s team from the San Francisco Bay Area and held on for a 9-4 win with a takeout to score three points to seal it.

In the men’s bronze-medal game, Wine Country’s David Markowski led his team to a 6-4 victory over Cincinnati’s Jonathan Penney rink. Ten minutes later Katie Feldman’s team made it a sweep of the bronze medals for the Wine Country Curling Club out of California. Feldman’s team dominated the second half to defeat San Francisco Bay Area’s Monica Hernandez, 11-5. Feldman and her team of Laura Lunetta (Sacramento, Calif.), Porsche Stephenson (Sacramento, Calif.), Auria Moore (Newark, Calif.), and Karla Markowski (Vacaville, Calif.) stole eight points over the final three ends to reach the podium.

Final scores and standings can be found at www.usacurl.org. The 2019 Arena National Championships will take place in West Chester, Pa., next May.

Gold-medal line scores:


*Dallas-Fort Worth         203 010 3x – 9

San Francisco Bay Area  000 301 0x – 4


Cleveland Skating Club  203 021 4x – 8

*Kansas City                     010 200 0x – 3

*last rock in first end

Gold medalists:

Dallas-Fort Worth: Jeffrey Knott (Dallas), Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas),  Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas), John Lambert (Garland, Texas)

Cleveland Skating Club: Kathryn Mercer (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Carole Negus (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Rebecca Storey (Cleveland Heights, Ohio), Elizabeth Feighan (Cleveland Heights, Ohio)

Silver medalists:

San Francisco Bay Area: Richard Lazarowich (San Jose, Calif.), Stephen Marschall (Mountain View, Calif.), Andy Carle (San Jose, Calif.), Jeremiah Malerich (San Jose, Calif.), Jay Diamond (Menlo Park, Calif.)

Kansas City: Sarah Wruck (Kansas City, Mo.), Kristy Filippini (Shawnee, Kan.), Stacy Foree (Oak Grove, Mo.), DeeAnn Moore (Kansas City, Mo.)

Bronze medalists:

Wine Country: David Markowski (Vacaville, Calif.), Camren Spangler (Meadow Vista, Calif.), William Hillman (El Dorado Hills, Calif.), Brian Feldman (Sacramento, Calif.)

Wine Country: Katie Feldman (Sacramento, Calif.), Laura Lunetta (Sacramento, Calif.), Porsche Stephenson (Sacramento, Calif.), Auria Moore (Newark, Calif.), Karla Markowski (Vacaville, Calif.)

Fourth place:

San Francisco Bay Area: Monica Hernandez, Heather Kopeck, Erin McInrue, Kristina Lugo (all of Oakland, Calif.)

Cincinnati: Jonathan Penney (West Chester, Ohio), Darrell Brown (Mason, Ohio), Brody White (West Chester, Ohio), Erich Knemeyer (West Chester, Ohio), Daniel Coviello (Sharonville, Ohio)

Champions (skip name in parentheses):


2018, Cleveland Skating Club (Kathryn Mercer)

2017, Oklahoma Curling Club (Nicole Merrifield)

2016, San Francisco Bay Area CC (Sarah Walsh)

2015, San Francisco Bay Area CC (Sarah Walsh)

2014, Kalamazoo CC (Stephanie Senneker)

2013, Dakota CC (Darcy Ellarby)


2018, Dallas-Fort Worth (Jeffrey Knott)

2017, Curling Club of Houston (Christopher Doremus)

2016, Pittsburgh CC (Mark Robinson)

2015, Dallas-Fort Worth CC (Jeffrey Knott)

2014, Broadmoor CC (Guy Scholz)

2013, Kalamazoo CC (Garnet Eckstrand)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile).