UW Stevens Point wins 2018 College National Championship

By Terry L. Davis | March 11, 2018, 11:26 p.m. (ET)


March 11, 2018


University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point captures College National Championship title


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point won its second national curling title with an 8-3 victory tonight over the University of Nebraska in the championship final of the 2018 USA Curling National College Championship in Eau Claire, Wis.


Skipped by Megan Banaski (Pewaukee, Wis.), the Pointers defeated Logan Gunderson’s Lincoln team in six ends to reach the top of the podium for the second time in three seasons after winning the title in 2015.


Sixteen teams from colleges and universities across the United States were competing for the national title at the Eau Claire Curling Club.


Banaski and her team of Noah Behling (Marshfield, Wis.), Logan Ebert (Weston, Wis.), Abbie Lee (Stevens Point, Wis.), and Lorenzo Smith (Green Bay, Wis.) finished the tournament with a 6-1 record. Earlier in the day, the Pointers defeated Yale University, 8-7, in the semifinal to reach the gold-medal game. Nebraska held off past champion University of Pennsylvania, 7-4, in the other semifinal matchup.


The Pointers stole the opening end to take a 1-0 lead but Gunderson and teammates Harrison Hruby (Bismarck, N.D.), Adam Schlichtmann (Fargo, N.D.), Austin Rose (Broken Bow, Neb.), and Carrie Rosenbaum (Ashland, Neb.) took the lead with a deuce in the second end. UWSP countered with a deuce and then stole the next two ends to take an 8-2 lead that Nebraska could not overcome as they accepted the silver medals.


Yale would bounce back to defeat Pennsylvania, 7-1, to earn the bronze medal.


More information about the College Curling Program can be found atwww.collegecurlingusa.org.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).