Ladies playoff field set in Fargo

By Terry L. Davis | March 08, 2018, 3:45 a.m. (ET)


March 8, 2018


Women’s playoff field set at 2018 National Championships


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The women’s field for the playoffs of the 2018 USA Curling National Championships is set while one tiebreaker game is on tap to determine the final men’s playoff contender at Scheels Arena in Fargo, N.D.


Jamie Sinclair’s defending champions went through the round robin with a perfect 7-0 record and will advance directly to Saturday’s final in the modified Page playoff. Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.) will play a single semifinal game at 2 p.m. Friday to determine the other finalist. The women’s gold-medal game will be contested at 12:30 p.m. CT Saturday.


In the men’s division, teams skipped by Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska) Heath McCormick (Sarnia, Ontario) and Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.) have all secured playoff berths. Persinger (8-1) and McCormick (8-1) will face off in the Page 1-2 playoff game with the winner advancing to Saturday’s championship final at 5 p.m. Birr’s team will take on the winner of the tiebreaker game between Jed Brundidge (West St. Paul, Minn.) and Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.) in the Page 3-4 game. The winner of the 3-4 match will play the losing team from the Page 1-2 game in a single semifinal to determine the other finalist. The tiebreaker game will take place at 10 a.m. Thursday with the men’s Page playoffs following at 8 p.m.


A live webstream, produced by the 12th End Sports Network in partnership with USA Curling and the U.S. Olympic Committee, and live scores are posted at


Men’s standings:

Heath McCormick (Sarnia, Ontario)         8-1Q

Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska)           8-1Q

Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.)                     6-3Q

Jed Brundidge (West St. Paul, Minn.)      5-4TB

Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.)            5-4TB

Nick Connolly (Seattle)                               4-5

Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)                    4-5

Alex Leichter (Boston)                                3-6

Scott Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.)                     1-8

Tucker Smith (Bismarck, N.D.)                   1-8


Women’s standings:

Jamie Sinclair (St. Paul, Minn.)                  7-0Q

Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska)                5-2Q

Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.)             5-2Q

Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.)             4-3

Beth Podoll (Fargo, N.D.)                           3-4

Christine McMakin (St. Paul, Minn.)        2-5

Emily Anderson (Broomall, Pa.)                1-6

Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.)                             1-6

Q=qualified for Page playoffs


What’s at stake:

The weeklong national event features the top men’s and women’s teams in the country and helps determine Team USA for the subsequent World Championships. The 2018 World Men’s Championship will take place March 31-April 8 in Las Vegas, Nev., while the 2018 World Women’s Championship will be staged March 17-25 in North Bay, Ontario.


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).