USA Curling Features Senior Nationals swe...

Senior Nationals sweep along in Duluth

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 26, 2018, 2:16 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 26, 2018

2018 Senior National Championships continue in Duluth

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Day two of the 2018 USA Curling Senior National Championships is underway at the eight-sheet Duluth Curling Club.

In this morning’s competition, Jeff Wright’s Illinois rink continued its dominating ways with a 10-0 win over Art Ruhononen’s rink to improve to 2-0. Minnesota’s Paul Pustovar and Seppo Sormunen rinks picked up wins to stay atop Pool B. Pustovar led his team to a 9-4 victory over North Dakota’s Russell Heier rink while Sormunen’s Duluth team got past Lloyd Yanis and his Colorado rink, 8-3. The defending champion – Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) – helped secure his team’s second straight win as they swept past Dave Foley’s Wisconsin rink, 6-5. Past champion Gert Messing of New York got into the win column with an 8-6 triumph over Duluth’s Keith Stauber rink. Darrin Holt’s team improved to 2-1 with a 7-4 win over North Dakota’s John Kram rink.

In last night’s action, the eight women’s teams were on the ice with three teams keeping their perfect records intact. Defending champion Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.) led her team to an 11-0 shutout of Arizona’s Carol Ann Naso. Two-time champion Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.) got past Kim Wapola’s fellow Minnesota rink, 7-3, and Beth Bohlman’s North Dakota team held off Brenda Mason’s squad for an 11-10 extra-end win. Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.) and teammates Mary Jaster (Grafton, N.D.), Carmen Delaney (Fargo, N.D.), and Roxanne Howes (Bismarck, N.D.) fell behind 0-5 after two ends but then scored five points in the third to even the scoreboard in the high-scoring affair. In the fourth women’s game, four-time champion Norma O’Leary got her team into the win column with a 6-5 triumph over Dawn Findlay’s Maryland rink. O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.) and teammates Linda Christensen (Duluth, Minn.), Mary Shields (Duluth, Minn.), and Lucy DeVore (Superior, Wis.) stole the final three ends to secure the victory.

The round robin competition continues at 4 and 7 tonight and throughout Saturday. Playoffs will take place on Sunday for the men. Follow along at

Draw 4 scores, 9 a.m. Friday.: Wright 10, Ruohonen 0; Pustovar 9, Heier 4; Sormunen 8, Yanis 3; Beadle 9, Gibbs 2; Goodland 6, Foley 5; Schiestel 5, DeVore 3; Holt 7, Kram 4; Messing 8, Stauber 6

Draw 3 scores, 7 p.m. Thursday: Smith 7, Wapola 3; O’Leary 6, Findland 5; Lank 11, Naso 0; Bohlman 11, Mason 10 (extra end); Beadle 6, Stauber 2; Leclair 5, Gibbs 4; Holt 8, Ruohonen 3; Olson 9, Kram 5

Women’s Standings:

Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.)           2-0

Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.)                         2-0

Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.)             2-0

Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.)          1-1

Kim Wapola (St. Paul, Minn.)                    1-1

Dawn Findlay (Glenn Dale, Md.)               0-2

Brenda Mason (Midland, Mich.)               0-2

Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)      0-2

Men’s Standings:

Pool A:

Ross Litman (Duluth, Minn.)                      2-0

Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.)             2-1

Phil DeVore (Superior, Wis.)                      1-1

Jon Schiestel (Greeley, Colo.)                    1-1

Dave Foley (Pewaukee, Wis.)                    0-3

Pool B:

Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.)                 3-0

Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.)            2-0

Russell Heier (Bismarck, N.D.)                   1-2

Doug Cameron (Duluth, Minn.)                0-2

Lloyd Yanis (Georgetown, Colo.)               0-2

Pool C:

Robert Leclair (Goodyear, Ariz.)               2-0

Kent Beadle (Hudson, Wis.)                       2-1

Gert Messing (Ballston Lake, N.Y.)           1-1

Dale Gibbs (Woodbury, Minn.)                 1-2

Keith Stauber (Duluth, Minn.)                   0-2

Pool D:

Mark Olson (Milton, Wis.)                          2-0

Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.)                      2-0

Darin Holt (Farmington, Minn.)                2-1

Art Ruohonen (St. Paul, Minn.)                 0-2

John Kram (Bismarck, N.D.)                       0-3

About the event:

The Senior Nationals is an event designed for athletes age 50 and older. The world championship debuted in 2002. The U.S. men have won the world title three times (2015, 2010, 2002) while the top finish for the American women has been bronze (five times).

What’s at stake:

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2018 World Senior Championships April 21-28 in Ostersund, Sweden.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).

Related Athletes

head shot

Patti Lank

head shot

Geoff Goodland