Detroit ready to host 20 junior teams

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 24, 2018, 3:59 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 24, 2018


Detroit set to host 2018 Junior National Championships


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The top 20 teams under age 21 will head to the Detroit Curling Club for the 2018 USA Curling Junior National Championships Jan. 27-Feb. 3.


The opening ceremony will take place at 1 p.m. ET Saturday at the four-sheet curling club in Ferndale, Mich., with the opening draw of competition following at 3 p.m. Teams will compete in a preliminary round robin to determine the playoff contenders. The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2018 World Junior Championships March 3-11 in Scotland.  


Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.) and Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) return to defend the titles they won last season. Dubberstein is now playing vice for Madison Bear, who won the title in 2016 and was runner-up last season. 2017 champions Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.) and Allison Howell (Bentleyville, Ohio) round out the team. Stopera returns with his 2017 championship team of Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.), and Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), with Caleb Clawson (Clarksville, Md.) joining the team this season as alternate.


A live webstream and scores will be posted at Curtis Cup Sportsmanship Awards as well as the Katie Beck Memorial Award will be presented at the conclusion of the championship on Feb. 3.  


The round robin will take place Saturday through Feb. 2. The Page playoffs featuring the top four teams per gender will begin at 8 p.m. ET on Feb. 2. The semifinals and championship finals will take place Feb. 3.


Here is a look at the competing teams and their hometowns:


Qualified teams, 2018 Junior National Championships:


Team Bear: *Madison Bear (Pardeeville, Wis.), *Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), *Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), *Allison Howell (Bentleyville, Ohio)


Team Farrell: Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Lexi Lanigan (Duluth, Minn.), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.)


Team Kitchens: Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Sara Hodek (Fairdale, N.D.), Sydney Steffen (Devils Lake, N.D.)


Team McMakin: *Christine McMakin (St. Paul, Minn.), Suzanna Viau (Plover, Wis.), Mairin Barrett (Woodbury, Minn.), Anna Netteberg (Roseville, Minn.)


Team Normandeau: Anya Normandeau (Burnsville, Minn.), Sydney Warch (St. Paul, Minn.), Rachel Kawleski (Stevens Point, Wis.), Ashton Osterhaus (Dalton, Wis.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.)


Team Olson: Sara Olson, Maggie Payette, Kristianna Yecoshenko, Jessica Olson (all of Duluth, Minn.)


Team Page: Mackenzie Page (Mankato, Minn.), Scotti Berg (Two Harbors, Minn.), Abigail Page (Mankato, Minn.), Jordan Hein (Galesville, Wis.)


Team Podoll: Beth Podoll (Fargo, N.D.), Emily Quello (Bemidji, Minn.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.)


Team Traxler: Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska), Sidney Schroeder (Midland, Mich.), Andie McDonald (Madison, Wis.), Anne O’Hara (Fairbanks, Alaska)


Team Willertz: Maya Willertz (Midland, Mich.), Mackenzie Ritchie (Bemidji, Minn.), Hope Puro (Bemidji, Minn.), Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Anna Cenzalli (East Falmouth, Mass.)



Team Clasen: Jack Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Samuel Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Dylan Barrett (Woodbury, Minn.), Joshua Proehl (Spicer, Minn.)


Team Connolly: Nick Connolly (Seattle), Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Andy Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.), Jonathon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.)


Team Fenson: Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.), Zach Erickson (Bemidji, Minn.), Carson Liapis (Bemidji, Minn.)


Team Hodek: Tim Hodek (Fairdale, N.D.), Skyler Slusar (Hallock, Minn.), John Lindgren (Grand Forks, N.D.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.)


Team Marquardt: Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Ryan Elwing (Brookfield, Wis.), Mitch Wilson (Delafield, Wis.), Connor Hipke (Wauwatosa, Wis.), Coleman Thurston (Poynette, Wis.)


Team McDonald: Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio), JP Munich (Oconomowoc, Wis.), Nathan Parry (Littleton, Colo.), Samuel Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Clay Osterhaus (Dalton, Wis.)


Team Moore: Josh Moore, Derek Moore, Nick Steinhaus, Eric Jaeger, Jared Moore (all of Mapleton, Minn.)


Team Stopera: *Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), *Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), *Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.), *Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Caleb Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)


Team Tuma: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Gilbert, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.)


Team Wendling: Wesley Wendling (Wausau, Wis.), John Wilkerson (Kronenwetter, Wis.), Mitchell Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Jackson Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Elijah Creel (Combined Locks, Wis.)


*past champion


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar Systems), and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).