USA Curling Features Round robin underway...

Round robin underway in Eau Claire

Jan. 18, 2018, 11:49 a.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 18, 2018


2018 Mixed Doubles Championship underway in Eau Claire


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The round robin of the 2018 USA Curling Mixed Doubles National Championship kicked off last night at the Eau Claire Curling Club in Eau Claire, Wis.


A field of 22 teams are competing in a divisional round robin with the top two teams from each pool advancing to the quarterfinals. The winning team will represent the U.S. at the 2018 World Mixed Doubles Championship April 21-28 in Ostersund, Sweden.


Stephanie Larson (Rosamond, Calif.) and Fred Maxie (Scottsdale, Ariz.) have earned two wins so far to lead Pool A. In the opening draw, the duo defeated Bismarck’s Sam and Larissa Unruh, 8-2, and this morning they got past Kelsey Ostrowski (Woodbury, Minn.) and Gary Mazzotta (Minneapolis, Minn.), 8-5. Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.), who won the title in 2015, are 1-0 in Pool A after a 6-4 victory over Audrey Foote (Whitesboro, N.Y.) and Blake Hagberg (New Hartford, N.Y.), who bounced back this morning with a 7-5 triumph over Jenna Burchesky (Eau Claire, Wis.) and Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.). Burchesky and Richardson earlier defeated Ostrowski and Mazzotta, 11-4.


In Pool B, Lexi Lanigan and Quinn Evenson (both of Duluth, Minn.) earned a 9-6 win over Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.) and Nathan Parry (Littleton, Colo.) while two-time Olympian Jessica Schultz (Richfield, Minn.) and partner Derrick McLean (Bothell, Wash.) got past the Wisconsin duo of Toni Paisley (Onalaska, Wis.) and Seth King (Holmen, Wis.), 10-4. Keeping pace, Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.) and Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.) defeated Todd Birr and Regan Birr (both of Ham Lake, Minn.), 6-5, to create a three-way tie for first place.


In Pool C action, Maureen Stolt and Pete Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.), the 2013 champions, defeated Appleton’s Emmalee Nichols and Greg Johnson (both of Appleton, Wis.), 8-4. Libby Brundage (Prospect Harbor, Maine) and Alex Leichter (Boston) swept past Clare Moores (Denver) and Lance Wheeler (Wheat Ridge, Colo.), 9-4, to lead the pool. In Pool D, 2017 junior champion Christine McMakin (St. Paul, Minn.) and Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) slid past Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Hunter Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), 7-3, while Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Olympian Jason Smith (St. Paul, Minn.)       defeated Kirstin McKeown (Robbinsdale, Minn.) and Gabriel Nickel (Saint Croix Falls, Wis.), 9-5, to lead the pack.


The round robin continues today with draws at 11:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m., 5:30 p.m., and 8:30 p.m. Live scores, standings and athlete information will be posted at



Pool A:

Stephanie Larson (Rosamond, Calif.) & Fred Maxie (Scottsdale, Ariz.)                     2-0

Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) & Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.)                 1-0

Jenna Burchesky (Eau Claire, Wis.) & Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.)                1-1

Audrey Foote (Whitesboro, N.Y.) & Blake Hagberg (New Hartford, N.Y.)                1-1

Larissa Unruh & Samuel Unruh (both of Bismarck, N.D.)                                             0-1

Kelsey Ostrowski (Woodbury, Minn.) & Gary Mazzotta (Minneapolis, Minn.)               0-2


Pool B:

Lexi Lanigan & Quinn Evenson (both of Duluth, Minn.)                                               1-0

Jessica Schultz (Richfield, Minn.) & Derrick McLean (Bothell, Wash.)                       1-0

Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.) & Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.)               1-0

Regan Birr & Todd Birr (both of Ham Lake, Minn.)                                                       0-1

Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.) & Nathan Parry (Littleton, Colo.)                                         0-1

Toni Paisley (Onalaska, Wis.) & Seth King (Holmen, Wis.)                                           0-1


Pool C:

Maureen Stolt & Pete Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.)                                               1-0        

Libby Brundage (Prospect Harbor, Maine) & Alex Leichter (Boston)                         1-0

Logan Tingley (Celina, Ohio) & Ryan O’Neil (Columbus, Ohio)                                   0-0

Emmalee Nichols & Greg Johnson (both of Appleton, Wis.)                                       0-1

Clare Moores (Denver) & Lance Wheeler (Wheat Ridge, Colo.)                                 0-1


Pool D:

Christine McMakin (St. Paul, Minn.) & Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)                      1-0

Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.) & Jason Smith (St. Paul, Minn.)                             1-0

Harley Rohrbacher (Pittsburgh, Pa.) & Guy Davis (Austin, Texas)                              0-0

Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) & Hunter Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)              0-1

Kirstin McKeown (Robbinsdale, Minn.) & Gabriel Nickel (Saint Croix Falls, Wis.)              0-1


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar Systems), and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).