USA Curling Features Eau Claire set to ho...

Eau Claire set to host 2018 Mixed Doubles National Championship

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 12, 2018, 1:48 p.m. (ET)

For live scores & standings, click here.

For Immediate Release

Jan. 12, 2018


2018 Mixed Doubles National Championship begins Wednesday in Eau Claire


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – A field of 22 teams will take to the ice next week in preparation for the 2018 USA Curling Mixed Doubles National Championship taking place in Eau Claire, Wis.


The 22 teams will be placed into four competition pools for a divisional round robin with the top two teams from each pool advancing to the quarterfinals. The competition will get underway Wednesday at 5:30 p.m. CT at the four-sheet Eau Claire Curling Club.


The winning team will represent the U.S. at the 2018 World Mixed Doubles Championship April 21-28 in Ostersund, Sweden.


The field of athletes includes several past champions, including Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.), who won the title in 2015 in Eau Claire; Maureen Stolt and Pete Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.), who won the title in 2013; and Jessica Schultz (Richfield, Minn.) and Jason Smith (St. Paul, Minn.), who were victorious at the event in 2016 in Denver, when it was used as a qualifying event for the World Mixed Doubles Team Trials that season. Mixed doubles will debut as an Olympic medal sport next month in PyeongChang, South Korea, and has been contested at a world championship level since 2008.


Live scores, standings and athlete information will be posted at Here is a look at the 2018 Mixed Doubles National Championship teams:


Pool A:

Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) & Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.)

Stephanie Larson (Rosamond, Calif.) & Fred Maxie (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Jenna Burchesky (Eau Claire, Wis.) & Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.)

Kelsey Ostrowski (Woodbury, Minn.) & Gary Mazzotta (Minneapolis, Minn.)

Larissa Unruh & Samuel Unruh (both of Bismarck, N.D.)

Audrey Foote (Whitesboro, N.Y.) & Blake Hagberg (New Hartford, N.Y.)


Pool B:

Jessica Schultz (Richfield, Minn.) & Derrick McLean (Bothell, Wash.)

Regan Birr & Todd Birr (both of Ham Lake, Minn.)

Lexi Lanigan & Quinn Evenson (both of Duluth, Minn.)

Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.) & Nathan Parry (Littleton, Colo.)

Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.) & Charlie Thompson (Eau Claire, Wis.)

Toni Paisley (Onalaska, Wis.) & Seth King (Holmen, Wis.)


Pool C:

Maureen Stolt & Pete Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.)

Libby Brundage (Prospect Harbor, Maine) & Alex Leichter (Boston)

Emmalee Nichols & Greg Johnson (both of Appleton, Wis.)

Clare Moores (Denver) & Lance Wheeler (Wheat Ridge, Colo.)

Logan Tingley (Celina, Ohio) & Ryan O’Neil (Columbus, Ohio)


Pool D:

Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.) & Jason Smith (St. Paul, Minn.)

Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) & Hunter Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)

Kirstin McKeown (Robbinsdale, Minn.) & Gabriel Nickel (Saint Croix Falls, Wis.)

Christine McMakin (St. Paul, Minn.) & Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

Harley Rohrbacher (Pittsburgh, Pa.) & Guy Davis (Austin, Texas)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar Systems), and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).



Related Athletes

head shot

Korey Dropkin

head shot

Sarah Anderson

head shot

Jessica Schultz

head shot

Jason Smith

head shot

Maureen Stolt

head shot

Peter Stolt