U18 National Championships underway in Bemidji

By Terry L. Davis | Feb. 23, 2018, 4:12 a.m. (ET)


Feb. 23, 2018

2018 U18 National Championships underway in Bemidji

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The 2018 USA Curling U18 National Championships are officially underway at the six-sheet Bemidji Curling Club in Bemidji, Minn.

Three sessions took place on Thursday as the second year of this newest USA Curling championship event saw the competition heat up right away.

Twenty-four teams are competing in a preliminary round robin through Saturday night. The top two teams in each division will qualify for the playoffs on Sunday with the winning teams representing the U.S. at the 2018 U18 Player’s Championship April 14-16 in Guelph, Ontario.

In the boys division, three teams remain perfect in Pool A with 2-0 records – Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), reigning champion Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.) and Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.). In Pool B, Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) and Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio) are 2-0 with more divisional round robin games to come.

In the girls division, teams have played just one game so far so six teams are perfect while six others are looking for the first win. Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.) stole a point in the final end to defeat Maya Willertz (Midland, Mich.). The Abbey Kitchens rink scored 17 points in defeating the young Emily Holler rink of Bemidji. Defending champion Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.) led her team to a 6-2 win over Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.). Susan Dudt’s team used steal to take down Claire Blaske’s Michigan rink, 8-1. Sara Olson’s Duluth rink got past Emily Martin’s Fargo team, 9-4. Maya Horten’s team from Portland, Ore., swept past Wisconsin’s Suzanna Viau, 6-3.

The competition continues on Friday with four draws of competition beginning at 8 a.m. CT. A live webstream and live scores are posted at www.usacurl.org.


Pool A

Katherine Gourianova (Potomac, Md.)    1-0

Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.)           1-0

Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.)                 1-0

Emily Holler (Bemidji, Minn.)                    0-1

Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.)            0-1

Maya Willertz (Midland, Mich.)                0-1

Pool B:

Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.)                         1-0

Maya Horten (Portland, Ore.)                   1-0

Sara Olson (Duluth, Minn.)                        1-0

Claire Blaske (Grand Ledge, Mich.)           0-1

Emily Martin (West Fargo, N.D.)               0-1

Suzanna Viau (Plover, Wis.)                       0-1


Pool A

Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)                     2-0

Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.)          2-0

Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.)                     2-0

Jonathon Gaasvig (Bemidji, Minn.)          0-2

Gabriel Koepke(Green Bay, Wis.)             0-2

Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.)                0-2

Pool B:

Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)                   2-0

Andrew McDonald (Hudson, Ohio)          2-0

Caleb Gartner (Falmouth, Mass.)             1-1

Ethan Hebert (Lowell, Mass.)                    1-1

Marty Hill (Portland, Ore.)                         0-2

Connal Murphy (Bismarck, N.D.)              0-2

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).