Wisconsin men and Washington women lead Club Nationals

Feb. 13, 2018, 1:32 a.m. (ET)


Feb. 13, 2018

Wisconsin women, Washington men lead 2018 Club National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Wisconsin’s Lori Karst and Washington’s Lyle Sieg rinks remain the lone undefeated rinks after 10 draws of competition at the 2018 USA Curling Club National Championships at the Brainerd Lakes Curling facility in Brainerd, Minn.

Karst (Madison, Wis.) and teammates Cynthia Rhyner (McFarland, Wis.), Rebecca Westphal (Verona, Wis.), and Anne Pryor (Madison, Wis.) improved to 3-0 on Monday with a 9-3 win over Dawn Findlay’s team from the Potomac Curling Club. Findlay’s rink bounced back with a 13-5 victory over Jennalee Johnson’s St. Paul Curling Club rink. Miyo Konno’s team stole three ends in a row, including in an extra end, to take Nicole Vorachek’s Capital Curling Club team out of the unbeaten ranks.

Sieg (Blaine, Wash.) and his team of Sam Galey (Seattle), Steve Lundeen (Seattle), and Matt Birklid (Seattle) stayed undefeated with a 10-2 victory over Brent Halfmann’s team from the Stephen Curling Club. Justin McBride’s team from the San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club defeated Chad Roberts of the Detroit Curling Club, 10-8, to move into a tie for second place with Al Gulseth’s Fargo-Moorhead rink.

Four draws of competition are taking place through Thursday evening with the round robin wrapping up Friday morning. The playoffs will then begin on Friday night featuring the top four teams from each division.

To learn more about the event and to see live scores and standings, go to http://go.teamusa.org/2Ej2LFB.

Draw 10 scores: McCormick 9, Erstad 6; Findlay 13, Johnson 5; Burton 11, Kirchner 3; Konno 9, Vorachek 8 (extra end)

Draw 9 scores: McBride 10, Roberts 8; Knott 8, Gulseth 3; Wilson 6, Brown 1; Guzman 7, Stopera 2

Women’s standings:

Lori Karst (Madison CC)                              3-0

Miyo Konno (Granite CC)                           3-1

Nicole Vorachek (Capital CC)                     3-1

Jayne Burton (Coyotes CC)                         2-2

Stephanie Erstad (Potomac CC)                2-2

Dawn Findlay (Potomac CC)                       2-2

Debbie McCormick (Madison CC)             2-2

Jamie Kraus (Duluth CC)                             1-2

Christi Kirchner (Ardsley CC)                      1-3

Jennalee Johnson (St. Paul CC)                  0-4

Men’s standings:

Lyle Sieg (Granite CC)                                  4-0

Al Gulseth (Fargo-Moorhead CC)              3-1

Justin McBride (San Francisco BACC)       3-1

Dave Brown (Madison CC)                         2-2

Benj Guzman (Broomstones CC)               2-2

Jeffrey Knott (Dallas-Fort Worth CC)        2-2

Bill Stopera (Ardsley CC)                             2-2

Greg Wilson (Chicago CC)                           2-2

Brent Halfmann (Stephen CC)                   0-4

Chad Roberts (Detroit CC)                          0-4

About the event:

The Club National Championships began in 2005 as another avenue for teams trying to compete at a higher level. Teams qualify via a regional playdown system. The Fargo-Moorhead (Dakota Territory Region) and Fairbanks (Alaska Region) clubs were the champions last season.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).