Club Nationals underway in Brainerd

By Terry L. Davis | Feb. 12, 2018, 6:30 a.m. (ET)


Feb. 12, 2018

2018 Club National Championships underway in Brainerd

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The 2018 USA Curling Club National Championships got underway Saturday at the Brainerd Lakes Curling facility in Brainerd, Minn., featuring 20 teams from across the U.S. competing for their respective national titles.

Five draws have been played and there are just four undefeated teams remaining as the teams quickly learned the ice. In the women’s division, two-time champion Nicole Vorachek (Bismarck, N.D.) started with an 8-6 victory over Jayne Burton’s team from Arizona’s Coyotes Curling Club. The Capital Curling Club foursome then followed up with an 8-2 win over Stephanie Erstad’s Washington, D.C.-based team. Lori Karst’s Wisconsin rink also is 2-0 after they got past Jennalee Johnson’s Minnesota rink, 9-3, and Washington’s Miyo Konno team, 10-1.

In the men’s division, North Dakota’s Al Gulseth and Washington’s Lyle Sieg lead the pack. Gulseth’s Fargo-Moorhead Curling Club team earned two wins so far. In the opening draw, Gulseth’s team secured a 9-4 win over Benj Guzman’s Boston-area rink. They followed up with a 12-5 triumph over Detroit’s Chad Roberts rink. Sieg, who led his team to the title in 2015, also defeated Roberts, 9-3, and swept past Justin McBride’s team from the San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club, 10-3.

Four draws of competition are taking place through Thursday evening with the round robin wrapping up Friday morning. The playoffs will then begin on Friday night featuring the top four teams from each division.

To learn more about the event and to see live scores and standings, go to

Women’s standings:

Lori Karst (Madison CC)                              2-0

Nicole Vorachek (Capital CC)                     2-0

Stephanie Erstad (Potomac CC)                1-1

Dawn Findlay (Potomac CC)                      1-1

Jayne Burton (Coyotes CC)                        1-1

Christi Kirchner (Ardsley CC)                     1-1

Miyo Konno (Granite CC)                           1-1

Jamie Kraus (Duluth CC)                             1-1

Jennalee Johnson (St. Paul CC)                 0-2

Debbie McCormick (Madison CC)             0-2

Men’s standings:

Al Gulseth (Fargo-Moorhead CC)              2-0

Lyle Sieg (Granite CC)                                  2-0

Dave Brown (Madison CC)                         1-1

Benj Guzman (Broomstones CC)               1-1

Jeffrey Knott (Dallas-Fort Worth CC)        1-1

Justin McBride (San Francisco BACC)       1-1

Bill Stopera (Ardsley CC)                             1-1

Greg Wilson (Chicago CC)                           1-1

Brent Halfmann (Stephen CC)                   0-2

Chad Roberts (Detroit CC)                          0-2

About the event:

The Club National Championships began in 2005 as another avenue for teams trying to compete at a higher level. Teams qualify via a regional playdown system. The Fargo-Moorhead (Dakota Territory Region) and Fairbanks (Alaska Region) clubs were the champions last season.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).