USA Curling Features Olympic team competi...

Olympic team competition begins Wednesday

By Terry L. Davis | Feb. 11, 2018, 10:43 p.m. (ET)


Feb. 12, 2018

Women’s, men’s Olympic curling round robin begins Wednesday

(GANGNEUNG, South Korea) – USA’s Nina Roth and John Shuster are set to lead the American curling teams as the round robin of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018gets underway Wednesday at the Gangneung Curling Centre.

As the mixed doubles competition comes to a close, the focus will turn to men’s and women’s competition. The teams will take part in pre-competition practices today and tomorrow in preparation for the start of the round robin at a 9 a.m. KT on Wednesday.

Shuster (Superior, Wis.) and his team of Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.), Matt Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.), and Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.) will face host Korea in the opening draw of the eight-day round robin. The team is coached by Phill Drobnick (Eveleth, Minn.) and Derek Brown (Scotland). The U.S. men won bronze in 2006 in Torino, marking the first and lone Olympic medal in curling to date. Shuster, Polo and Women's Coach Scott Baird were members of that historic team.

Roth (McFarland, Wis.) and teammates Tabitha Peterson (St. Paul, Minn.), Aileen Geving (Duluth, Minn.), Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), and Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.) will hit the ice on Wednesday afternoon in the second session against Japan’s Satsuki Fujisawa rink. The U.S. women are coached by Al Hackner (Thunder Bay, Ontario) and Scott Baird (Bemidji, Minn.). The women are seeking the country’s first Olympic medal in curling.

Curling was first contested as an Olympic medal sport in 1924 and then was reinstated in 1998. The Canadian men have won the gold medal at the last three Olympic Games with Norway winning in 2002 and Switzerland in 1998. The U.S. men have advanced to the playoffs twice – in 2006 when they won bronze and in 2002 On the women’s side, Canada won in 2014 and in 1998 while Great Britain was the champion in 2002 and Sweden had back-to-back title wins in 2006 and 2010. The best U.S. women’s finish was fourth in 2002.

To learn more about the U.S. team, you can check out their athletes bios at

Practice schedule:


1:30-2:25 (men)

3:20-4:15 (women)


2:50-3:45 (men)

5:40-6:35 (women)

Round robin schedule:

Wednesday, Feb. 14:

USA men vs. Korea (Chang-Min Kim), 9:05 a.m.

USA women vs. Japan (Satsuki Fujisawa), 2:05 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 15:

USA women vs. Great Britain (Eve Muirhead), 9:05 a.m.

USA men vs. Italy (Joel Retornaz), 2:05 p.m.

USA women vs. Switzerland (Silvana Tirinzoni), 8:05 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 16:

USA men vs. Sweden (Niklas Edin), 9:05 a.m.

USA men vs. Denmark (Rasmus Stjerne), 8:05 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 17:

USA women vs. Olympic Athlete From Russia (Victoria Moiseeva), 9:05 a.m.

USA women vs. Canada (Rachel Homan), 8:05 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 18:

USA men vs. Japan (Yusuke Morozumi), 9:05 a.m.

USA men vs. Norway (Thomas Ulsrud), 8:05 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 19:

USA women vs. Denmark (Madeleine Dupont), 9:05 a.m.

USA men vs. Canada (Kevin Koe), 2:05 p.m.

USA women vs. China (Bingyu Wang), 8:05 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 20:

USA women vs. Korea (Eunjung Kim), 2:05 p.m.

USA men vs. Switzerland (Peter de Cruz), 8:05 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 21:

USA men vs. Great Britain (Kyle Smith), 2:05 p.m.

USA women vs. Sweden (Anna Hasselborg), 8:05 p.m.

Playoff schedule:

Thursday, Feb. 22:

Tiebreaker games, if needed, 9:05 a.m.

Men’s semifinals, 8:05 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 23:

Men’s bronze-medal game, 3:35 p.m.

Women’s semifinals, 8:05 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 24:

Men’s gold-medal game, 3:35 p.m.

Women’s bronze-medal game, 8:05 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 25:

Women’s gold-medal game, 9:05 a.m.

All games will stream live at and on the NBC Sports app with TV coverage live or on tape delay on NBCSN, USA Network and CNBC. A complete schedule is posted at

Useful links:


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 0-104-364-8015 (Korean mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Nina Roth

head shot

Tabitha Peterson

head shot

Aileen Geving

head shot

Becca Hamilton

head shot

Cory Christensen

head shot

John Shuster

head shot

Tyler George

head shot

Matt Hamilton

head shot

John Landsteiner

head shot

Joe Polo