Club National Championships begin Saturday in Brainerd

By Terry L. Davis | Feb. 06, 2018, 4:46 a.m. (ET)


Feb. 6, 2018


2018 Club National Championships begin Saturday in Minnesota


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The top 20 teams representing their respective clubs will take to the ice for the 2018 USA Curling Club National Championships Saturday at the Brainerd Lakes Curling facility in Brainerd, Minn.


Teams qualify for this national event via a regional playdown system. Ten men’s and 10 women’s teams will compete in a nine-game round robin beginning on Saturday. At the conclusion of the round robin, the top four teams in each division will qualify for the playoffs.


Several former champions are competing in this year’s field but neither of the defending champion rinks are back to attempt a repeat. The opening ceremony will take place at 12 p.m. Saturday followed by the first draw of action at 3 p.m. A link to live scores and daily wrap-ups will be posted at


Amongst the returning past champions are the 2016 men’s winners from the Ardsley Curling Club – Bill Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Martin Sather (Yonkers, N.Y.), Peter Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), and George Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.) and Wisconsin's Dave Brown. In the women’s field, four past champions are competing including Stephanie Erstad, who won the title back in 2006; and North Dakota’s Nicole Vorachek (Mandan, N.D.), Corrina Stroh (Bismarck, N.D.) and Roxanne Howes (Bismarck, N.D.), who won the title in 2015 and 2013.


Here is a look at the full competing field for the 2018 Club National Championships:

Women’s field:


Ardsley Curling Club (Grand National Region): Christi Kirchner, Leeza Furman, Christina Hall, Lynn Salmon (all of Mahwah, N.J.)


Capital Curling Club (Dakota Territory Region): *Nicole Vorachek (Mandan, N.D.), *Corrina Stroh (Bismarck, N.D.), Breynn Sturlaugson (Bismarck, N.D.), *Roxanne Howes (Bismarck, N.D.)


Coyotes Curling Club (Mountain Pacific Region): Jayne Burton (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Tatiana Keeling (Casa Grande, Ariz.), Amy Thompson (Gilbert, Ariz.), Kimberly Gaddie (Apache Junction, Ariz.)


Duluth Curling Club (Minnesota Region): Jamie Kraus (Proctor, Minn.), Kerry Hadiaris (Duluth, Minn.), Bridgette Kelleher (Proctor, Minn.), Kristen Lee (Duluth, Minn.)


Granite Curling Club (Washington Region): Miyo Konno (Monroe, Wash.), Christine Pastula (Seattle), Aryn Grause (Seattle), Nicole Samson (Seattle)


Madison Curling Club (Wisconsin Region): Debbie McCormick (Rio, Wis.), Miranda Hofmann (Madison, Wis.), Rebecca Reinhart (Monona, Wis.), Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.)


Madison Curling Club (Wisconsin Region): Lori Karst (Madison, Wis.), Cynthia Rhyner (McFarland, Wis.), Rebecca Westphal (Verona, Wis.), Anne Pryor (Madison, Wis.)


Potomac Curling Club (Grand National Region): Dawn Findlay (Glenn Dale, Md.), Laura Heuer (Crownsville, Md.), Susan Armiger (Severna Park, Md.), Majik Jones (Eason, Md.), Stacy Slette (Washington, D.C.)


Potomac Curling Club (Grand National Region): *Stephanie Erstad (Sparks, Md.), Courtney Shaw (Washington, D.C.), Andrea Dubin (Jessup, Md.), Laura Yee (Washington, D.C.)


St. Paul Curling Club (Minnesota Region): Jennalee Johnson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Sapa Carlson (St. Paul, Minn.), Amanda Vosberg (Woodbury, Minn.), Corryn Wilson (Minneapolis, Minn.)


Men’s field:

Ardsley Curling Club (Grand National Region): *Bill Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), *Martin Sather (Yonkers, N.Y.), *Peter Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), *George Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.)


Broomstones Curling Club (Grand National Region): Benj Guzman (Lexington, Mass.), Andy McKellips (Acton, Mass.), Mike Sampson (Natick, Mass.), Jim Fitzgerald (Southborough, Mass.)


Chicago Curling Club (Illinois Region): Greg Wilson (Vernon Hills, Ill.), Michael Rane (Glencoe, Ill.), Ryan Murphy (Chicago), Mantas Kulakauskas (Palatine, Ill.)


Dallas-Fort Worth Curling Club (Mid-America Region): Jeff Knott (Dallas, Texas), Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), John Lambert (Garland, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas)


Detroit Curling Club (Great Lakes Region): Chad Roberts (Flushing, Mich.), Ben Levy (Ypsilanti, Mich.), Mark Hansell (Rochester Hills, Mich.), Josh Roberts (Saint Clair Shores, Mich.)


Fargo-Moorhead Curling Club (Dakota Territory Region): Al Gulseth (Fargo, N.D.), Joshua Siewert (West Fargo, N.D.), Mark Gulseth (Frazee, N.D.), Tony Bugliosi (Fargo, N.D.)


Granite Curling Club (Washington Region): *Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.), Sam Galey (Seattle), *Steve Lundeen (Seattle), *Duane Rutan (Olympia, Wash.)


Madison Curling Club (Wisconsin Region): *Dave Brown (Waterford, Wis.), Daniel Brown (Madison, Wis.), Patrick Roe (McFarland, Wis.), Jeremy Roe (Rio, Wis.), Mark Hartman (Sun Prairie, Wis.)


San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club (Mountain Pacific Region): Justin McBride (Anaheim, Calif.), Erik Jensen (San Francisco, Calif.), Sean Franey (El Cerrito, Calif.), Joel Calhoun (Lake Forest, Calif.)


Stephen Curling Club (Minnesota Region): Brent Halfmann, Kyle Sundby, Brian Halfmann, Daniel Riley (all of Stephen, Minn.)


*past champion


About the event:

The Club National Championships began in 2005 as another avenue for teams trying to compete at a higher level. Teams qualify via a regional playdown system. The Fargo-Moorhead (Dakota Territory Region) and Fairbanks (Alaska Region) clubs were the champions last season.


Clubs with most Club National Championship titles:

Duluth Curling Club (Minnesota Region): 5 (3 women’s and 2 men’s)

Granite Curling Club of Seattle (Washington Region): 4 (3 men’s and 1 women’s)

Madison Curling Club (Wisconsin Region): 4 (2 women’s and 2 men’s)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).