Final berths to 2019 National Championships up for grabs

Dec. 28, 2018, 12:07 p.m. (ET)


Dec. 28, 2018

Final berths to 2019 National Championships up for grabs

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The final coveted spots to compete in the 2019 USA Curling National Championships in Kalamazoo will be determined at next week’s Challenge Rounds.

The remaining three women’s spots will be contested Jan. 4-6 at the Itasca Curling Club in Grand Rapids, Minn. Six teams will be competing for the opportunity to be part of the eight-team women’s field at the 2019 Nationals, which are set to take place at Wings Arena in Kalamazoo, Mich., Feb. 9-16. Four men’s berths are up for grabs at the Four Seasons Curling Club in Blaine, Minn., where 16 teams will be competing.

The women will compete in a single round robin beginning next Friday night while the men’s competition will be a bracketed competition to determine the qualifiers. The men’s event gets underway on Thursday evening. Live webstreaming and live scores will be available from the men’s event while live scores will be posted for the women’s competition. Links will be posted at

Four women’s teams and five men’s teams have already qualified for the 2019 Nationals via Order of Merit standings (full list at bottom of press release).

Here is a look at the competing teams in this year’s Men’s and Women’s Challenge Rounds:

Women (three teams advance to Nationals):

Team Dubberstein: Annmarie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), Allison Howell (Chagrin Falls, Ohio)

Team Flannery: Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Lexi Lanigan (Duluth, Minn.), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Podoll: Ann Podoll (Fargo, N.D.), Carissa Thomas (Moorhead, Minn.), Rachel Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Christina Lammers (Reiles Acres, N.D.)

Team Rhyme: Kim Rhyme (Minneapolis, Minn.), Katie Dubberstein (Portage, Wis.), Katie Rhyme (Brown Deer, Wis.), Amy Harnden (Blaine, Minn.)

Team Traxler: Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska), Emily Quello (Bemidji, Minn.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.)

Team Walsh: Sarah Walsh (Oakland, Calif.), Auria Moore (Sacramento, Calif.), Porsche Stephenson (Sacramento, Calif.), BriAnna Weldon (El Cerrito, Calif.)

Men (four teams advance to Nationals):

Team Allen: Jared Allen (Nashville, Tenn.), Michael Roos (Nashville, Tenn.), Keith Bulluck (Brentwood, Tenn.), Marc Bulger (Brentwood, Tenn.), John Benton (Blaine, Minn.)

Team Beighton: Sean Beighton (Seattle), Alex Leichter (Boston), Chris Bond (Seattle), Derrick McLean (Bothell, Wash.)

Team Birklid: Steve Birklid (Mountlake Terrace, Wash.), Sam Galey (Seattle), Matt Birklid (Shoreline, Wash.), Nick Connolly (Seattle)

Team Birr: Todd Birr (Ham Lake, Minn.), Hunter Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Greg Johnson (Appleton, Wis.), Tom O’Connor (Brooklyn Center, Minn.)

Team Brown: Dan Brown (Madison, Wis.), Kraig Deeren (Lodi, Wis.), David Brown (Waterford, Wis.), Jeremy Roe (Rio, Wis.)

Team Brundidge: Jed Brundidge (West St. Paul, Minn.), Jordan Brown (Elk River, Minn.), Evan Workin (Fargo, N.D.), Cameron Rittenour (Sioux Falls, S.D.)

Team Corbett: Brandon Corbett (Rochester, N.Y.), Derek Corbett (Syracuse, N.Y.), Kent Suslavich (Woodbury, Conn.), Aaron Carlson (East Lansing, Mich.)

Team Griffin: Clayton Griffin (Roswell, Ga.), Sterling Crabb (Swanee, Ga.), Fritz Owens (Marietta, Ga.), Drew Zucker (Atlanta, Ga.)

Team Imes: Stephen Imes (Upper Arlington, Ohio), Trevor Gau (Durham, N.C.), Chris Sherry (Seattle), Kevin Dolan (Pickerington, Ohio)

Team Kakela: Kevin Kakela (Hansboro, N.D.), Kyle Kakela (Rolla, N.D.), Tim Hodek (Fairdale, N.D.), Ryan Lagasse (Mandan, N.D.)

Team Nicko: Craig Nicko (Bethel, Minn.), Evan Jensen (Blaine, Minn.), Gabriel Nickel (St. Croix Falls, Wis.), Jim Ivey (St. Paul, Minn.)

Team Siggins: Michael Siggins (Mesa, Ariz.), Adam Endicott (Chandler, Ariz.), Travis Gaddie (Apache Junction, Ariz.), Eric Kowal (Phoenix)

Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.)

Team Smith: Jason Smith (St. Paul, Minn.), Matt Carlson (Mounds View, Minn.), Dan Ruehl (Plymouth, Minn.), Tim Solin (Mahtomedi, Minn.)

Team Sobering: Darryl Sobering (Westminster, Colo.), Colin Rittgers (Arvada, Colo.), Evan Jaffee (Sedalia, Colo.), Josh Chetwynd (Denver)

Team Steinhaus: Nick Steinhaus (Mapleton, Minn.), Skyler Slusar (Hallock, Minn.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Mitch Wilson (Delafield, Wis.)

Teams already qualified to compete in the 2019 National Championships:


Team Christensen: Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.), Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Jenna Martin (Wauwatosa, Wis.), Madison Bear (Pardeeville, Wis.)

Team Roth: Nina Roth (McFarland, Wis.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.)

Team Senneker: Stephanie Senneker (Port Huron, Mich.), Rebecca Andrew (West Henrietta, N.Y.), Emilia Juocys (Lathrup Village, Mich.), Maya Willertz (Midland, Mich.)

Team Sinclair: Jamie Sinclair (Manotick, Ontario), Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Monica Walker (St. Paul, Minn.)


Team Dunnam: Scott Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.), Cody Clouser (Berwyn, Pa.), Daniel Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Andrew Dunnam (Dresher, Pa.)

Team Fenner: Mark Fenner (Bemidji, Minn.), Tom Howell (Milwaukee, Wis.), Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.), Alex Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

Team Ruohonen: Rich Ruohonen (Brooklyn Park, Minn.), Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Colin Hufman (Minneapolis, Minn.), Phil Tilker (Seattle)

Team Shuster: John Shuster (Superior, Wis.), Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Matt Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Stopera: Andrew Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Ben Richardson (Issaquah, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, BroomsUp Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.



For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).