USA Curling Features One more spot to Mix...

One more spot to Mixed Doubles National Championship yet to be secured

Dec. 22, 2018, 9:04 p.m. (ET)


Dec. 22, 2018


One berth still up for grabs at 2019 Mixed Doubles National Championship


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Two of the three available berths to the 2019 USA Curling Mixed Doubles National Championship have been secured today as the Mixed Doubles Challenge Rounds continues in Grand Forks, N.D.


Maureen Stolt and Pete Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.), who won the national title in 2013, went 3-0 to earn the first spot at the Grand Forks Curling Club. The Stolts defeated Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Derrick McLean (Bothell, Wash.), 6-5, after rallying to score three points in the final end this morning.


Anderson and McLean then dropped down to the final on the B side of the bracket this afternoon against Ann Podoll and Nathan Parry (both of Fargo, N.D.), where they clinched at Mixed Doubles Nationals spot with a 3-1 victory over the Fargo duo.


The final berth will be awarded tomorrow morning and Podoll and Parry will have another chance as they slip down to the C bracket. Four teams are still in the running with games left to be played tonight as well. Live scores are posted at


The 12-team Mixed Doubles National Championship will take place Feb. 27-March 3 at the Granite Curling Club in Seattle. The other nine berths were awarded earlier this season based on World Curling Tour event title wins and rankings. 


Remaining teams in the hunt:

Kirstin McKeown (Robbinsdale, Minn.) and Gabriel Nickel (St. Croix Falls, Wis.)

Clare Moores (Denver) and Lance Wheeler (Wheat Ridge, Colo.)

Ann Podoll and Nathan Parry (both of Fargo, N.D.)

Larissa Unruh and Sam Unruh (both of Bismarck, N.D.)


Teams already qualified to the 2019 Mixed Doubles National Championship include:

Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.)

Becca Hamilton and Matt Hamilton (both of McFarland, Wis.)

Monica Walker (St. Paul, Minn.) and Alex Leichter (Boston)

Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.)

Em Good and Mac Guy (both of Seattle)

Jamie Sinclair (Manotick, Ontario) and Sean Beighton (Seattle)

Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.) and Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.)

Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.) and John Shuster (Superior, Wis.)

Nina Roth (McFarland, Wis.) and Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.)

Maureen Stolt and Pete Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.)

Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Derrick McLean (Seattle)


To learn more about the Mixed Doubles National Championship, go to


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Carhartt, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Twin Cities Orthopedics, and is partnered with Carhartt, Brakebush, Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Taylor Anderson

head shot

Derrick McLean

head shot

Maureen Stolt

head shot

Peter Stolt