Arena Nationals begin Tuesday in Salt Lake City

By Terry L. Davis | April 30, 2018, 1:29 p.m. (ET)


April 30, 2018


2018 Arena National Championships begin Tuesday in Utah


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The final championship event of the season kicks off Tuesday at the Utah Olympic Oval as 35 teams are set to compete in the 2018 USA Curling Arena National Championships.


The six-day event features 20 men’s and 15 women’s teams competing to become the top arena-based team in the country. This event began in 2013 and will be hosted in Utah for the first time as the Utah Olympic Oval and Utah Olympic Oval Curling Club partner with USA Curling for this showcase event for member clubs that utilize arena facilities instead of dedicated curling clubs.


The competition will feature teams competing in a preliminary round robin in pool play beginning Tuesday and going through Friday evening with 14 sessions. If needed, tiebreaker games will be played Saturday morning to determine the playoff teams. The gold-medal game in each division will be contested on Sunday afternoon.


The Curling Club of Houston team skipped by Christopher Doremus is back to defend the title the team won last year in Notre Dame, Ind. The Oklahoma Curling Club won the women’s title last year but are not competing in this year’s event in Salt Lake City.


A live webstream and live scores as well as standings after each draw will be posted at


The opening ceremony will take place at 2:45 p.m. MT Tuesday followed by the first draw of competition at 5 p.m. Games at this event are eight ends in length.


Here is a look at the competing teams:


Men (20 teams):

Pool A:

Bend: Jason Burge, Richard Peterson, Jeffrey Gullickson, Chet Liew (all of Bend, Ore.)


Cincinnati: Jonathan Penney (West Chester, Ohio), Darrell Brown (Mason, Ohio), Brody White (West Chester, Ohio), Erich Knemeyer (West Chester, Ohio), Daniel Coviello (Sharonville, Ohio)


Dallas-Fort Worth: Jeffrey Knott (Dallas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas), Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), John Lambert (Garland, Texas)


St. Louis: T. Keefe Davis (St. Louis, Mo.), Joseph Van Artsdalen (St. Charles, Mo.), Michael Allison (St. Louis, Mo.), Eric Smith (Waterloo, Ill.)


Utah Olympic Oval: Cornell Brown (Lehi, Utah), Nick Martinez (Murray, Utah), Stuart Brown (Saratoga Springs, Utah), Chase Lantis (West Jordan, Utah), Russell Parker (Taylorsville, Utah)


Pool B:

Curling Club of Houston: Chris Doremus (Victoria, Texas), Billy Reynolds (Houston), Carl Schaeper (Houston), Matthew Kane (League City, Texas)


Long Island: John Paccione (Glen Oaks, N.Y.), Robert Roberts (Merrick, N.Y.), Tom Lithgow (Garden City, N.Y.), Zach Ryan (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Tom Ryan (Rockville Centre, N.Y.)


La Crosse: Chris Hofland, Russell Kludy, Ian Hofland, Mark Swart (all of La Crosse, Wis.)


Park City: Greg Basrak (Park City, Utah), John Goodwin (Hideout, Utah), Benjamin Henderson (Park City, Utah), Chris Kehr (Park City, Utah)


San Francisco Bay Area: Richard Lazarowich (San Jose, Calif.), Stephen Marschall (Mountain View, Calif.), Andy Carle (San Jose, Calif.), Jeremiah Malerich (San Jose, Calif.), Jay Diamond (Menlo Park, Calif.)


Pool C:

Aberdeen: Mark Tolvstad, Bryan Rau, Mark Becking, Danny Wolfgram (all of Mellette, S.D.)


Kansas City: Doug Owens (Weston, Mo.), Michael Eickbush (Kansas City, Mo.), Ryan Marx (Kansas City, Kan.), Brian Foree (Oak Grove, Mo.)


Lone Star: Guy Davis (Austin, Texas), Joe Glaeser (Pflugerville, Texas), Darin Henley (Austin, Texas), Dinu Nair (Austin, Texas)


Pittsburgh: Mark Robinson (Pittsburgh), Steve Buffington (Coraopolis, Pa.), Alexander Visnich (Beaver Falls, Pa.), Nicholas Visnich (Beaver Falls, Pa.)


Wine Country: David Markowski (Vacaville, Calif.), Camren Spangler (Meadow Vista, Calif.), William Hillman (El Dorado Hills, Calif.), Brian Feldman (Sacramento, Calif.)


Pool D:

Cedar Rapids: Murray Marple (Fairfax, Iowa), Lon Peper (Cedar Rapids, Iowa), Ken Heitzman (Mario, Iowa), Al Roder (Independence, Iowa), Philip Burian (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)


Circle City: Matt James (Westfield, Ind.), Wes Hoffman (Westfield, Ind.), Jon Harris (Noblesville, Ind.), David Strom (Indianapolis, Ind.)


Hollywood: Parker Shook (North Hollywood, Calif.), Cameron Ross (Glendale, Calif.), Daniel McCarthy (Los Angeles), Benedict Yoong (Ventura, Calif.)


Palmetto: Daniel Fort (Mauldin, S.C.), Brian Champion-Westscott (Greer, S.C.), Robert Ewing (Greenville, S.C.), Keith Parker (Greer, S.C.)


Vikingland: Troy Dittberner (Alexandria, Minn.), Daniel Rooney (Alexandria, Minn.), Aaron Rooney (Alexandria, Minn.), Scott Threinen (Garfield, Minn.)


Women (15 teams):

Pool A:


Cedar Rapids: Helen Bryce (Coralville, Iowa), Martha Marple (Fairfax, Iowa), Adelynn Heitzman (Marion, Iowa), Katelyn Browne (Cedar Falls, Iowa)



Cleveland Skating Club: Kathryn Mercer (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Carole Negus (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Rebecca Storey (Cleveland Heights, Ohio), Elizabeth Feighan (Cleveland Heights, Ohio)


Dallas-Fort Worth: Liana Knott (Lancaster, Texas), Allison Donaldson (Frisco, Texas), Carrie Scarlata (Sachse, Texas), Lisa Henry (Dallas)


Utah Olympic Oval: Melissa Majchrzak (Holladay, Utah), Christie Konkol (Salt Lake City, Utah), Marissa Linback (Cottonwood Heights, Utah), Debbie Basrak (Park City, Utah)


Wine Country: Katie Feldman (Sacramento, Calif.), Laura Lunetta (Sacramento, Calif.), Porsche Stephenson (Sacramento, Calif.), Auria Moore (Newark, Calif.), Karla Markowski (Vacaville, Calif.)


Pool B:

Broadmoor: Paula Bloom, Amy Bahls, Maggie Vail, Jean Otto (all of Colorado Springs, Colo.)


Cincinnati: Monique Penney (West Chester, Ohio), Stephanie Simpson (Cincinnati, Ohio), Janet Clifford Brown (Mason, Ohio), Deborah Coviello (Sharonville, Ohio)


Hollywood 2: Donna Umali (Burbank, Calif.), Jenn de la Fuente (Glendale, Calif.), Katie Shook (North

Hollywood, Calif.), Landon LaRue (Los Angeles)


Lone Star: Jennifer Asis (Sunnyvale, Calif.), Kelly Kozlovsky (Austin, Texas), Olivia Packenham (Austin, Texas), Erin Knight (Austin, Texas)


San Francisco Bay Area: Monica Hernandez, Heather Kopeck, Erin McInrue, Kristina Lugo (all of Oakland, Calif.)


Pool C:


Hollywood 1: Liza Beres (Valencia, Calif.), Marie Paolantonio (Los Angeles), Rose Meiri (Winnetka, Calif.), Rachel Brauer (Los Angeles)


Kansas City: Sarah Wruck (Kansas City, Mo.), Kristy Filippini (Shawnee, Kan.), Stacy Foree (Oak Grove, Mo.), DeeAnn Moore (Kansas City, Mo.)


Pittsburgh: Jacki Temple (Glenshaw, Pa.), Amanda Marchitelli (Pittsburgh), Rebecca Watson (Pittsburgh), Marie Rose (Coraopolis, Pa.)


Silicon Valley: Diane Palme (Woodside, Calif.), Melissa Wheeler (San Jose, Calif.), Amanda Chang (Santa Clara, Calif.), Mary Riordan (Palo Alto, Calif.)


Windy City: Brooke Borowiak (Westchester, Ill.), Heather Semenuik (Naperville, Ill.), L. Noel Luchinski (Glen Ellyn, Ill.), Carol Collins (St. Charles, Ill.)


Past champions (skip name in parentheses):


2017, Oklahoma Curling Club (Nicole Merrifield)

2016, San Francisco Bay Area CC (Sarah Walsh)

2015, San Francisco Bay Area CC (Sarah Walsh)

2014, Kalamazoo CC (Stephanie Senneker)

2013, Dakota CC (Darcy Ellarby)



2017, Curling Club of Houston (Christopher Doremus)

2016, Pittsburgh CC (Mark Robinson)

2015, Dallas-Fort Worth CC (Jeffrey Knott)

2014, Broadmoor CC (Guy Scholz)

2013, Kalamazoo CC (Garnet Eckstrand)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.




For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).