Sinclair rink makes history as first American team to win Grand Slam event

By Terry L. Davis | April 16, 2018, 9:06 a.m. (ET)

The U.S. team of (l-r) Jamie Sinclair, Alex Carlson, Vicky Persinger, and Monica Walker hoist the Player's Championship trophy on Sunday after becoming the first U.S. team to win a Grand Slam of Curling event.

Photo courtesy of the GSOC (Anil Mungal)



April 16, 2018

Sinclair rink captures first Grand Slam title for USA

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The Jamie Sinclair rink made history on Sunday night by becoming the first American team to win a Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling (GSOC) event when they defeated the reigning world champions in the final of the West Jet Players’ Championship in Toronto.

Sinclair (St. Paul, Minn.) and her team of Alex Carlson (St. Paul, Minn.), Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Monica Walker (St. Paul, Minn.) won decisively over the Jennifer Jones rink by a 7-2 score to win the competition at Ryerson's Mattamy Athletic Centre.

The win earned Team Sinclair $30,000 CDN plus $40,000 for finishing second in the GSOC’s Bonus Cup standings. “It’s nice to go down in history for that and hopefully it’s just a start,” Sinclair told Sports Net after the historic win. Sinclair’s team went 3-2 in the round robin portion to qualify for Saturday’s quarterfinals where they defeated Anna Hasselborg’s Olympic champions from Sweden, 5-3. They then went on to defeat the Swiss Olympic team skipped by Silvana Tirizoni, 4-3, in the semifinals to set up the championship final showdown with the 2014 Olympic champions.

Sinclair’s team stole the second end to get on the scoreboard first and then controlled the rest of the match with solid all-around shooting. The team would score three points in the seventh end to secure their upset win over the favorited Jones rink. The season is not yet complete for Team Sinclair as they will compete in the Humpty’s Champions Cup in Calgary April 24-29.

USA’s Nina Roth rink had also advanced to the quarterfinals where Roth (McFarland, Wis.) and her team of Tabitha Peterson (St. Paul, Minn.), Aileen Geving (Duluth, Minn.) and Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.) lost in an extra end to Canada’s Kerri Einarson rink, 9-8. John Shuster and his Olympic champions lost a tiebreaker game to Canada’s John Epping as they tried to make a playoff bid as well. Final results from the event are posted here,

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, IHG, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).