Home USA Curling Features Field set for 2017 M...

Field set for 2017 Mixed Doubles National Championship

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 29, 2017, 4:14 p.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 29, 2017

Field set for Mixed Doubles National Championship

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – It was the last gasp to qualify for the Mixed Doubles National Championship for six remaining teams that took the ice today at Curl Mesabi in Eveleth, Minn.

In the morning draw, Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska) and 2014 Olympian Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.) took down Seattle’s Jillian Walker and Sean Beighton, 9-2, and then went on to defeat Craig Brown (Madison, Wis.) and Sarah Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.), 7-3, this afternoon to secure a spot in the 2017 USA Curling Mixed Doubles National Championship in March at the Four Seasons Curling Club in Blaine, Minn.

Seattle’s duo of three-time champion Cristin Clark and partner Matt Birklid got past Stephanie Larson (Rosamond, Calif.) and Fred Maxie (Scottsdale, Ariz.), 11-3, who earlier in the day had knocked out Taylor Anderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Tom Howell (Milwaukee, Wis.). Final scores from the event are posted at www.usacurl.org.

Mixed doubles will debut as an Olympic medal sport in 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea. Eight countries will compete and the U.S. is well on its way to securing one of those berths based on last year’s third-place finish at the World Mixed Doubles Championship. South Korea, as host of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, earns an automatic berth and the other seven countries that will compete in mixed doubles are determined by accumulating points at the 2016 and 2017 World Mixed Doubles Championship events. The American duo of Joe Polo and Tabitha Peterson secured 10 qualification points for the United States in 2016.

If the U.S. secures a berth in mixed doubles for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, an Olympic Trials will take place in December (dates and site to be announced). The top five teams from the 2017 Mixed Doubles National Championship will earn berths to compete in the Olympic Mixed Doubles Trials. In addition, a minimum of three teams may qualify for the Trials via discretionary selection to bring the Trials field to a maximum of eight teams.

Here is a look at the teams qualified to the 2017 USA Curling Mixed Doubles National Championship, March 1-5:

  • Matt Hamilton and Becca Hamilton (both of McFarland, Wis.)
  • Courtney George (Minnetonka, Minn.) and Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.)
  • Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.) and Nina Roth (McFarland, Wis.)
  • Chris Plys and Aileen Geving (both of Duluth, Minn.)
  • Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.) and Tabitha Peterson (Minneapolis, Minn.)
  • Cory Christensen (Duluth, Minn.) and John Shuster (Superior, Wis.)
  • Jamie Sinclair (St. Paul, Minn.) and Korey Dropkin (Duluth, Minn.)
  • Alex Carlson (St. Paul, Minn.) and Derrick McLean (Bothell, Wash.)
  • Maureen Stolt and Peter Stolt (both of Plymouth, Minn.)
  • Monica Walker and Jason Smith (both of St. Paul, Minn.)
  • Cristin Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.) and Matt Birklid (Mountlake Terrace, Wash.)
  • Vicky Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, and Ki Mobility, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).