USA Curling Features Semifinals set at 20...

Semifinals set at 2017 Senior Men's Championship

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 28, 2017, 11:06 p.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 28, 2017

Semifinals set at 2017 Senior National Men’s Championship

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Teams with a wealth of championship experience are moving on to the semifinals of the 2017 USA Curling Senior Men’s National Championship at the Centerville Curling Club.

Teams skipped by Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.) and Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.) earned first round playoff byes based on seeding after the round robin came to a close today in Centerville, Wis. Team Erickson (5-0) will take on Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.), who won the title in 2013, while Farbelow’s rink (5-0), which contains all four of the winning team members from last season, will face 2015 champion Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.) at 9 a.m. CST Sunday.

After defeating Paul Pustovar’s team 7-0 earlier in the day in the tiebreaker to reach the quarterfinals, Mark Olson’s Wisconsin rink couldn’t keep the train rolling as they lost to Sieg, 5-1. Mellerup and his team of Dannie Steski (Shoreham, N.Y.), Bill Nickle (Long Valley, N.J.), and Bill Peskoff (Glen Gardner, N.J.) scored three points late in the game to take down Doug Cameron’s Minnesota rink, 8-5, in the other semifinal. Final scores are posted at

The women’s playoffs are currently at the Evergreen Curling Club in Beaverton, Ore. Undefeated Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.) will take on Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio) while three-time champion Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.) will battle Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska) in the other semifinal game. The winning teams will move on to Sunday morning’s championship final. Watch the live webstream at Photos from the women’s event can be found online at

The winning teams of the 2017 Senior National Championships will represent the U.S. at the 2017 World Senior Championships April 22-29 in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.

Remaining playoff schedule:

Women’s gold-medal game, 10 a.m. PST Sunday: Matchup TBA (semifinal games in progress)

Men’s semifinals, 9 a.m. CT Sunday

Men’s championship final, 2 p.m. CT Sunday


Team Mellerup: Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.), Dannie Steski (Shoreham, N.Y.), Bill Nickle (Long Valley, N.J.), Bill Peskoff (Glen Gardner, N.J.)

Team Erickson: Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.), Darin Holt (Farmington, Minn.), Tom Holt (Grafton, N.D.), Darren Kress (Shakopee, Minn.), Thomas Pecchia (White Bear Lake, Minn.)

Team Sieg: Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.), Tom Violette (Issaquah, Wash.), Steve Lundeen (Seattle), Ken Trask (Seattle)

Team Farbelow: Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.), Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.), Tim Solin (Mahtomedi, Minn.), Pete Westberg (Woodbury, Minn.), Jeff Annis (Mapleton, Minn.)

Team Carothers: Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska), Ardis Bourque (Fairbanks, Alaska), Elaine Thompson McGee (North Pole, Alaska), Lynda Sather (Fairbanks, Alaska)

Team Horn: Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Martha Naber (Niskayuna, N.Y.), Karen Hamilton (Grove City, Ohio), Connie Kupferschmidt (St. Paul, Minn.)

Team Lank: Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.), Kathy Pielage (Verona, Wis.), Tracy Lawless (Hawthorn Hills, Ill.), Sandra Brown (Lewiston, N.Y.)

Team Smith: Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.), Debbie Dexter (St. Paul, Minn.), Peggy Gazzola (Apple Valley, Minn.), Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, Ki Mobility, and, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).