USA Curling Features Playoffs set at 2017...

Playoffs set at 2017 Senior Women's Championship in Oregon

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 28, 2017, 11:36 a.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 28, 2017

Women’s semifinals set at 2017 Senior National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Four teams remain in contention for the 2017 USA Curling Senior Women’s National Championship title as the semifinals are now set in Beaverton, Ore.

The women’s playoffs will take place at 7 PST tonight at the Evergreen Curling Club. Undefeated Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.) will take on Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio) while three-time champion Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.) will battle Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska) in the other semifinal game. The winning teams will move on to Sunday morning’s championship final. Watch the live webstream at In last night’s round robin conclusion, Carothers and her team of Ardis Bourque (Fairbanks, Alaska), Elaine Thompson McGee (North Pole, Alaska), and Lynda Sather (Fairbanks, Alaska) defeated Debra Horn’s team, 9-2, to earn the top spot out of Pool A. Smith’s team clinched its playoff seeding with a 6-5 victory over Carol Ann Naso’s Arizona rink.

At the 2017 USA Curling Senior Men’s National Championship in Centerville, Wis., the playoff field is taking shape as just one more draw remains in the round robin today at noon CST. If needed, tiebreaker games will be played this afternoon with the quarterfinals on tap at 8 tonight. Once the six playoff teams are identified, they will be seeded with the top two teams earning a first round playoff bye.

Teams skipped by Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.), Doug Cameron (Duluth, Minn.), Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.), and Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.) have successfully earned playoff bids. In Pool C, 2015 champion Lyle Sieg will take on 2014 champion Jeff Wright rink in the 12 p.m. draw with the winner earning a playoff spot. In Pool B, two-time champion Paul Pustovar will take on Erickson’s team. A win by Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.) would put his team in the playoffs. A loss will result in a tiebreaker game for Pustovar against Mark Olson’s Wisconsin rink, which defeated Dwayne Jacobson’s team this morning, 5-3. Erickson wrapped up the round robin last night with an 11-3 win over Dave Foley’s team.

Live scores and standings are posted at

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2017 World Senior Championships April 22-29 in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.

Saturday results: Men

8 a.m. draw: Olson 5, Jacobson 3; Mellerup 7, Matzke 4; Brenengen 7, Van Brunt 4; Farbelow 6 Sormunen 5 (extra end)

Friday results: Men

8 p.m. draw: Erickson 11, Foley 3; Pustovar 7, Jacobson 6; Wright 7, Gibbs 4; Cameron 6, Leclair 4

Friday results: Women

7 p.m. draw: Krienke 9, Watson 2; Carothers 9, Horn 2; Smith 6, Naso 5

Senior Women’s National Championship, Beaverton, Ore.:


Pool A:

Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska)               3-1*

Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio)                 3-1*

Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.)                   2-2

Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.)                  2-2

Karen Fairley (Tigard, Ore.)                               0-4

Pool B:

Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.)                                 4-0*

Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.)                    3-1*

Nadyne Krienke (Mill Creek, Wash.)               2-2

Kathryn Watson (Newberg, Ore.)                    1-3

Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)             0-4

*Clinched playoff spot

Senior Men’s National Championship, Centerville, Wis.:


Pool A:

Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.)             5-0*

Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.)                     4-1*

Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.)                   3-2

Brian Brenengen (Galesville, Wis.)                   1-4

Paul Matzke (Sun Prairie, Wis.)                        1-4

Jerry Van Brunt (Colorado Springs, Colo.)      1-4

Pool B:

Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.)                           4-0*

Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.)                         3-1

Mark Olson (Milton, Wis.)                                 3-2

Dwayne Jacobson (Junction City, Wis.)           2-3

Dave Foley (Pewaukee, Wis.)                            1-3

Lionel Locke (St. Louis Park, Minn.)                 0-4

Pool C:

Doug Cameron (Duluth, Minn.)                       3-1*

Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.)                                    2-1

Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.)                              2-1

Bob Leclair (Goodyear, Ariz.)                            1-2

Dale Gibbs (Woodbury, Minn.)                         0-3

*clinched playoff spot

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, Ki Mobility, and, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).