USA Curling Features Lank and Horn reach ...

Lank and Horn reach playoff stage at Evergreen CC

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 27, 2017, 9:18 p.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 27, 2017

Women’s playoff field taking shape at 2017 Senior National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – She’s won several women’s national championship titles but Patti Lank is in search of her first senior women’s title. Her team is one step closer after clinching a spot in the playoffs of the 2017 USA Curling Senior Women’s National Championships in Beaverton, Ore.

Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.) and teammates Kathy Pielage (Verona, Wis.), Tracy Lawless (Hawthorn Hills, Ill.), and Sandra Brown (Lewiston, N.Y.) improved to 4-0 with an 11-2 win over Kathryn Watson’s team today at the Evergreen Curling Club. With a 4-0 record in round robin play, the Lank rink is qualified for this weekend’s playoffs. The top two teams in each pool advance to Saturday night’s semifinals. Debra Horn’s team kept pace with an 8-3 victory over Beth Bohlman’s North Dakota rink to improve to 3-0 and also earn a playoff spot out of Pool A. The women’s round robin wraps up tonight at 7 p.m. PT. If needed, tiebreaker games will be played Saturday morning and afternoon to set up the semifinals. Watch the live webstream at

At the 2017 USA Curling Senior Men’s National Championship in Centerville, Wis., three more rounds are in the books after today’s competition at the Centerville Curling Club. In the 12 p.m. draw, three past champions of this event earned wins to keep their playoff dreams alive. Jeff Wright’s Illinois rink defeated Bob Leclair’s team, 5-3, while Lyle Sieg’s team posted a 9-3 victory over Doug Cameron’s team. Paul Pustovar needed an extra end to take down fellow Minnesotan Lionel Locke, 5-4. The men’s round robin continues tonight at 8 p.m. and wraps up tomorrow afternoon. The top two teams in each of the three divisions will advance to Saturday night’s playoffs. A complete schedule, as well as live scores and standings, are posted at

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2017 World Senior Championships April 22-29 in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada. The Senior National Championships have been contested since 2002. The U.S. men have gone on to win the world title three times since (2002, 2010, 2015) while the highest finish for the American ladies has been bronze (2015, 2014, 2007, 2004, 2002).

Friday results: Men

8 a.m. draw: Matzke 8, Brenengen 7 (extra end); Mellerup 8, Sormunen 5; Foley 7, Olson 6; Farbelow 8, Van Brunt 1

12 p.m. draw: Wright 5, Leclair 3; Sieg 9, Cameron 3; Erickson 6, Jacobson 4; Pustovar 5, Locke 4 (extra end)

4 p.m. draw: Farbelow 8, Mellerup 5; Van Brunt 8, Matzke 5; Sormunen 6, Brenengen 1; Olson 6, Locke 1

Thursday results: Women

10 a.m. draw: Krienke 7, Naso 3; Lank 7, Smith 2

2:30 p.m. draw: Horn 8, Bohlman 3; Lank 11, Watson 2; O’Leary 9, Fairley 1

Senior Women’s National Championship, Beaverton, Ore.:


Pool A:

Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio)                 3-0*

Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska)               2-1

Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.)                   2-2

Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.)                  2-2

Karen Fairley (Tigard, Ore.)                               0-4

Pool B:

Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.)                                 4-0*

Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.)                    2-1

Kathryn Watson (Newberg, Ore.)                    1-2

Nadyne Krienke (Mill Creek, Wash.)               1-2

Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)             0-3

*Clinched playoff berth

Senior Men’s National Championship, Centerville, Wis.:


Pool A:

Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.)             4-0

Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.)                     3-1

Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.)                   3-1

Paul Matzke (Sun Prairie, Wis.)                        1-3

Jerry Van Brunt (Colorado Springs, Colo.)      1-3

Brian Brenengen (Galesville, Wis.)                   0-4

Pool B:

Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.)                           3-0

Dwayne Jacobson (Junction City, Wis.)           2-1

Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.)                         2-1

Mark Olson (Milton, Wis.)                                 2-2

Dave Foley (Pewaukee, Wis.)                            1-2

Lionel Locke (St. Louis Park, Minn.)                 0-4

Pool C:

Doug Cameron (Duluth, Minn.)                       2-1

Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.)                                    2-1

Bob Leclair (Goodyear, Ariz.)                            1-1

Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.)                              1-1

Dale Gibbs (Woodbury, Minn.)                         0-2

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, Ki Mobility, and, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).