USA Curling Features 2017 Senior National...

2017 Senior Nationals in full swing in Wisconsin and Oregon

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 27, 2017, 11:24 a.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 27, 2017

2017 Senior National Championships continue in Wisconsin, Oregon

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Three women’s teams remain perfect after four rounds of competition at the 2017 USA Curling Senior Women’s National Championships in Beaverton, Ore.

Debra Horn’s team stole two points in the final end of play to defeat the defending champs, skipped by Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), 5-4, yesterday at the Evergreen Curling Club. Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio) and teammates Martha Naber (Niskayuna, N.Y.), Karen Hamilton (Grove City, Ohio), and Connie Kupferschmidt (St. Paul, Minn.) balanced the day with a 10-6 victory over Karen Fairley’s team in the afternoon draw to take the top spot in Pool A.

In Pool B, Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.) and three-time senior national champion Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.) lead the pack with 2-0 records as the round robin continued. Lank and her team of Kathy Pielage (Verona, Wis.), Tracy Lawless (Hawthorn Hills, Ill.), and Sandra Brown (Lewiston, N.Y.) cruised past Nadyne Krienke’s rink, 11-4. Smith’s team earned two wins yesterday. In the morning draw, solid shooting led Smith and teammates Debbie Dexter (St. Paul, Minn.), Peggy Gazzola (Apple Valley, Minn.), and Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.) to an 8-3 win over Krienke’s team. They then followed up with a 9-3 victory over Kathryn Watson’s hometown rink.

The women’s teams return to the ice today with three rounds of competition at 10 a.m., 2:30 and 7 p.m. PST. Watch the live webstream at

At the 2017 USA Curling Senior Men’s National Championship in Centerville, Wis., the round robin was in full swing on Thursday. Mike Farbelow and Dennis Mellerup lead Pool A with 3-0 records. Jeff Erickson and Dwayne Jacobson had solid outings to take control of Pool B with 2-0 records. In pool C, Doug Cameron’s Duluth rink is 2-0 while Rob Leclair’s team from Arizona is 1-0. The men’s competition will see four draws of action today at the Centerville Curling Club as the teams battle to reach this weekend’s playoffs.

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2017 World Senior Championships April 22-29 in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada. The Senior National Championships have been contested since 2002. The U.S. men have gone on to win the world title three times since (2002, 2010, 2015) while the highest finish for the American ladies has been bronze (2015, 2014, 2007, 2004, 2002).

Live scores and standings are posted at

Thursday results: Men

8 a.m. draw: Pustovar 7, Foley 5; Farbelow 8, Brenengen 4; Mellerup 11, Van Brunt 1; Sormunen 6, Matzke 5

12 p.m. draw: Sieg 9, Gibbs 4; Cameron 6, Wright 1; Jacobson 10, Locke 4; Erickson 5, Olson 0

4 p.m. draw:

Thursday results: Women

10 a.m. draw: Smith 8, Krienke 3; Horn 5, O’Leary 4; Carothers 8, Bohlman 1

2:30 p.m. draw: Watson 5, Naso 3; Lank 11, Krienke 4; Horn 10, Fairley 6

7 p.m. draw: Bohlman 6, O’Leary 5; Carothers 9, Fairley 7; Smith 9, Watson 3

Senior Women’s National Championship, Beaverton, Ore.:


Pool A:

Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio)                 2-0

Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.)                   2-1

Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska)               2-1

Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.)                  1-2

Karen Fairley (Tigard, Ore.)                               0-3

Pool B:

Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.)                                 2-0

Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.)                    2-0

Kathryn Watson (Newberg, Ore.)                    1-1

Nadyne Krienke (Mill Creek, Wash.)               0-2

Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)             0-2

Senior Men’s National Championship, Centerville, Wis.:


Pool A:

Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.)             3-0

Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.)                     3-0

Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.)                   2-1

Brian Brenengen (Galesville, Wis.)                   0-2

Paul Matzke (Sun Prairie, Wis.)                       0-2

Jerry Van Brunt (Colorado Springs, Colo.)      0-3

Pool B:

Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.)                           2-0

Dwayne Jacobson (Junction City, Wis.)           2-0

Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.)                         1-1

Mark Olson (Milton, Wis.)                                 1-2

Dave Foley (Pewaukee, Wis.)                            1-2

Lionel Locke (St. Louis Park, Minn.)                 0-2

Pool C:

Doug Cameron (Duluth, Minn.)                       2-0

Bob Leclair (Goodyear, Ariz.)                            1-0

Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.)                                   1-1

Dale Gibbs (Woodbury, Minn.)                         0-2

Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.)                             0-1

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, Ki Mobility, and, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).