USA Curling Features Senior Men's Champio...

Senior Men's Championship on tap this week in Wisconsin

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 23, 2017, 10:37 a.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 23, 2017

2017 Senior Men’s National Championship begins Thursday in Wisconsin

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The top U.S. athletes age 50 and above will compete this week at the 2017 USA Curling Senior National Championships to determine Team USA for the 2017 World Senior Championships.

Seventeen men’s team will compete Jan. 26-29 at the four-sheet Centerville Curling Club in Centerville, Wis. Ten women’s teams will take the ice during that same time frame at the senior women’s event at the Evergreen Curling Club in Beaverton, Ore. The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2017 World Senior Championships April 22-29 in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.

The teams will be split into three pools for a preliminary round robin, which will begin at 8 a.m. CT on Thursday. At the end of the round robin, the top two teams from each pool will advance to the playoffs.

The field is highlighted by several past senior national winners, including Geoff Goodland’s defending champions, who are teaming up this year with Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.) taking over the skipping duties. Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) and teammates Tim Solin (Mahtomedi, Minn.), Pete Westberg (Woodbury, Minn.), and Jeff Annis (Mapleton, Minn.) finished fifth at last year’s World Senior Championships. In total, 18 past champions of this event are included in the field. A complete listing of the athletes is below.

The Senior National Championships have been contested since 2002. The U.S. men have gone on to win the world title three times since (2002, 2010, 2015) while the highest finish for the American ladies has been bronze (2015, 2014, 2007, 2004, 2002).

Live scores and standings will be posted at throughout the championship.

Here is a list of the competing teams and their hometowns:

Pool A:

Team Farbelow: Mike Farbelow (Minneapolis, Minn.), Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.), Tim Solin (Mahtomedi, Minn.), Pete Westberg (Woodbury, Minn.), Jeff Annis (Mapleton, Minn.)

Team Sormunen: Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), Tim Ebert (Oregon, Wis.), Michael Huska (Duluth, Minn.), Paul Ryan (Madison, Wis.)

Team Mellerup: Dennis Mellerup (Hoboken, N.J.), Dannie Steski (Shoreham, N.Y.), Bill Nickle (Long Valley, N.J.), Bill Peskoff (Glen Gardner, N.J.)

Team Van Brunt: Jerald Van Brunt (Colorado Springs, Colo.), David Van Brunt (Charlotte, N.C.), Jon Schiestel (Greeley, Colo.), David Brekke (Windsor, Colo.)

Team Matzke: Paul Matzke (Sun Prairie, Wis.), Rich Lepping (Madison, Wis.), Rob Wixson (Madison, Wis.), Mark Hartman (Sun Prairie, Wis.)

Team Brenengen: Brian Brenengen, Robert Hammond, Bob Hanson, Randy Van Vleet (all of Galesville, Wis.)

Pool B:

Team Pustovar: Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.), Mike Fraboni (Lac du Flambeau, Wis.), Don Mohawk (Nashwauk, Minn.), Brian Simonson (Hibbing, Minn.)

Team Erickson: Jeff Erickson (Proctor, Minn.), Darin Holt (Farmington, Minn.), Tom Holt (Grafton, N.D.), Darren Kress (Shakopee, Minn.), Thomas Pecchia (White Bear Lake, Minn.)

Team Jacobson: Dwayne Jacobson (Junction City, Wis.), Richard Maskel (Green Bay, Wis.), Dan Buresh (Bismarck, N.D.), Ferdinand Schlapper (Woodbury, Minn.)

Team Locke: Lionel Locke (St. Louis Park, Minn.), Kurt Klussendorf (St. Paul, Minn.), Mike Staffaroni (Golden Valley, Minn.), Jim McMann (Apple Valley, Minn.)

Team Olson: Mark Olson (Milton, Wis.), Paul Rudkin (Janesville, Wis.), Jeff Schuchardt (Arlington, Wis.), Tony Jacobson (Janesville, Wis.)

Team Foley: Dave Foley, Tom Munich, Neil Fell, Bob Cuomo (all of Pewaukee, Wis.)

Pool C:

Team Sieg: Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.), Tom Violette (Issaquah, Wash.), Steve Lundeen (Seattle), Ken Trask (Seattle)

Team Wright: Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.), Nils Johansson (Marana, Ariz.), Jim Wilson (Winnetka, Ill.), Steven Waters (Evenston, Ill.)

Team Gibbs: Dale Gibbs (Woodbury, Minn.), Mike Floerchinger (Princeton, Minn.), Patrick Sherer (Maple Grove, Minn.), Merlin Eddy (Hastings, Minn.)

Team Cameron: Doug Cameron, Glen Novak, Dean Birman, Jeff Heikkila (all of Duluth, Minn.)

Team LeClair: Robert LeClair (Goodyear, Ariz.), Greg Gallagher (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Tom Danielson (Chandler, Ariz.), Jeff Baird (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)

Past senior champions: year won senior title and finish at world senior championships:

Tim Solin: 2016 (5th) 2011 (silver)

Pete Westberg: 2016 (5th), 2011 (silver)

Geoff Goodland: 2016 (5th), 2011 (silver), 2007 (4th)

Jeff Annis: 2016 (5th)

Dennis Mellerup: 2013 (13th)

Bill Nickle: 2013 (13th)

Bill Peskoff: 2013 (13th)

Paul Pustovar: 2010 (gold), 2009, (silver)

Mike Fraboni: 2008 (bronze)

Don Mohawk: 2010 (gold), 2009 (silver), 2006 (silver)

Brian Simonson: 2010 (gold), 2009 (silver), 2006 (silver)

Lyle Sieg: 2015 (gold)

Tom Violette: 2015 (gold)

Steve Lundeen: 2015 (gold)

Ken Trask: 2015 (gold)

Jeff Wright: 2014 (4th)

Nils Johansson: 2014 (4th)

Jim Wilson: 2014 (4th), 2007 (4th)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, Ki Mobility, and, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).