USA Curling Features Evergreen welcomes 2...

Evergreen welcomes 2017 Senior Women's National Championship teams

Jan. 23, 2017, 10:46 a.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 23, 2017

2017 Senior Women’s National Championship begins Wednesday in Oregon

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The top U.S. athletes age 50 and above will compete this week at the 2017 USA Curling Senior National Championships to determine Team USA for the 2017 World Senior Championships.

Ten women’s teams will take the ice at the three-sheet Evergreen Curling Club in Beaverton, Ore. Seventeen men’s team will compete during the same timeframe at the Centerville Curling Club in Centerville, Wis.  The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2017 World Senior Championships April 22-29 in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.

The competing teams will be split into two pools for a preliminary round robin, which will get underway Wednesday at 8 p.m. PT. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the semifinals on Saturday night. The winners of the semifinals will move on to the gold-medal game on Sunday morning.

The field is highlighted by several past senior national winners, including last year’s champions – Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), Linda Christensen (Duluth, Minn.), Mary Shields (Duluth, Minn.), and Lucy DeVore (Superior, Wis.), who finished seventh at the 2016 World Senior Championships. O’Leary, 55, has won four straight senior ladies titles. Three-time senior champion Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.) is back in search of another title. This year’s field also features five-time women’s national champion Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.), who won a silver medal for the U.S. at the 1999 World Women’s Championship. This is the first time that Lank, 52, will compete in the senior ladies event after a very successful women’s curling career.

The Senior National Championships have been contested since 2002. The U.S. men have gone on to win the world title three times since (2002, 2010, 2015) while the highest finish for the American ladies has been bronze (2015, 2014, 2007, 2004, 2002).

A live webstream, as well as live scores and standings, will be posted at throughout the championship.

Here is a list of the competing teams and their hometowns:

Pool A:

Team Bohlman: Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.), Mary Jaster (Grafton, N.D.), Carmen Delaney (Fargo, N.D.), Roxanne Howes (Bismarck, N.D.)

Team Carothers: Susan Carothers (Fairbanks, Alaska), Ardis Bourque (Fairbanks, Alaska), Elaine Thompson McGee (North Pole, Alaska), Lynda Sather (Fairbanks, Alaska)

Team Fairley: Karen Fairley (Tigard, Ore.), Elaine Smith-Koop (Salem, Ore.), Clara Martinez (Portland, Ore.), Diane Keleher (Sherwood, Ore.)

Team Horn: Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Martha Naber (Niskayuna, N.Y.), Karen Hamilton (Grove City, Ohio), Connie Kupferschmidt (St. Paul, Minn.)

Team O’Leary: Norma O’Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), Linda Christensen (Duluth, Minn.), Mary Shields (Duluth, Minn.), Lucy DeVore (Superior, Wis.)

Pool B:

Team Krienke: Nadyne Krienke (Mill Creek, Wash.), Karen Brattesani (Seattle), Elizabeth Johnson (Bellevue, Wash.), Dani Thibodeaux (Kirkland, Wash.)

Team Lank: Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.), Kathy Pielage (Verona, Wis.), Tracy Lawless (Hawthorn Hills, Ill.), Sandra Brown (Lewiston, N.Y.)

Team Naso: Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.), Lu Brock (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Debra Aubrey (Chandler, Ariz.), Tracey Drummond (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)

Team Smith: Margie Smith (Shoreview, Minn.), Debbie Dexter (St. Paul, Minn.), Peggy Gazzola (Apple Valley, Minn.), Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.)

Team Watson: Kathryn Watson (Newberg, Ore.), Kathy Placek (Vancouver, Wash.), Gail Starr (Portland, Ore.), Cecile Baril (Portland, Ore.), Margot Standeven (Portland, Ore.)

Past senior champions: Year won senior title and finish at world senior championships:

Norma O’Leary: 2016 (7th), 2015 (bronze), 2014 (bronze)

Linda Christensen: 2016 (7th), 2015 (bronze)

Mary Shields: 2016 (7th), 2015 (bronze)

Lucy DeVore: 2016 (7th), 2015 (bronze), 2013 (7th)

Margie Smith: 2014 (bronze), 2013 (7th), 2011 (4th)

Debbie Dexter: 2014 (bronze), 2013 (7th), 2011 (4th)

Shelly Kosal: 2014 (bronze), 2013 (7th)

Dani Thibodeaux: 2010 (4th)

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus, Brakebush, Jet Ice, Ki Mobility, and, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).