Las Vegas to host 2018 World Men's Championship

By Terry Davis | Nov. 05, 2015, 9 a.m. (ET)
Nov. 5, 2015

Las Vegas to host 2018 World Men’s Championship

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The World Men’s Curling Championship will be held in the United States for the first time in a decade when it heads to Las Vegas in March 2018.

It is the first time a World Curling Federation (WCF) world championship has been held in the ‘live entertainment capital of the world,’ however, the city took notice of the sport when 51,215 spectators turned out for the World Financial Group (WFG) Continental Cup, which made its debut there in 2014.

The World Men’s Curling Championship will be held between March 31-April 8, 2018, following the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea.

The 8,000-seat Orleans Arena, which is near the famous Las Vegas strip, will be the venue for the event. The WFG Continental Cup will be held there, once again, in January 2016.

“We’re delighted to be taking the World Men’s Curling Championship to one of the most recognized cities in the world, in 2018, and back to America for the first time since 2008,” said Kate Caithness, World Curling Federation president.

“The WFG Continental Cup in 2014 was a great success and has helped lay the foundations for this event,” Caithness said. “I look forward to working with the local organizing committee, USA Curling, our sponsors and partners in the coming years, as we seek to capitalize on the growing interest in curling, in Las Vegas, and put on a first-class world championship.”

The World Men’s Curling Championship is held annually in March/April and is the pinnacle of the men’s curling season. Each year 12 teams have the chance to compete for the title – eight from the European Zone, two from the Americas Zone and two from the Pacific-Asia Zone. In 2018, the U.S., part of the Americas Zone, will automatically qualify as host.

This will be the eighth time USA Curling have held the World Men’s Curling Championship since 1970 (1970, 1976, 1984, 1987, 1989, 2002, 2006, 2008). However, this will be the first time it has been held on the west coast.

The bid for this event is part of a drive to bring more elite sporting competitions and events to the state of Nevada.

“Nevada is quickly becoming a ‘must attend’ destination for the sport of curling,” said Jon Killoran, Local Organizing Committee chairman. “We are honored to be chosen to host a prestigious World Men’s Curling Championship on the heels of hosting two WFG Continental Cups in Las Vegas, as well as the 2015 World Curling Congress in Reno-Tahoe.”

To date, the U.S. has won 14 World Men’s Curling Championship medals (seven bronze, four silver and three gold). Their most recent medal, bronze, was won at the 2007 World Championship in Edmonton, Canada, by Todd Birr’s team. The U.S. last won gold in 1978.

“Just three years ago we were announcing the first major curling event coming to Las Vegas, and now we have the distinct pleasure of partnering again with the World Curling Federation and our friends in Nevada to bring this superb championship to one of the liveliest cities in the world,” said Rick Patzke, USA Curling’s chief executive officer. “Sandstone may be the official rock of Nevada, but I think the curling stone could soon be in the running for some sort of high-roller status. Yet it’s the athletes working their magic with those stones, and the passionate fans who follow the sport around the globe, who will make this a can’t-miss show in Las Vegas in 2018.”

Sweden is the current world men’s curling champions, winning gold at the 2015 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship in Halifax, Canada, in April. Before the championship in Las Vegas, the 2016 edition of the event will be held in Basel, Switzerland, April 2-10. Canada will hold the 2017 event, with the exact venue still to be confirmed.

Las Vegas is a city filled with exciting mega resorts and unparalleled live entertainment. It boasts more than 150,000 hotel rooms and plays hosts to millions of visitors every year.

Notes to Editors:

World Curling Championships in America

* World Mixed Doubles Curling Championships 2011: St Paul, Minn.
* World Senior Curling Championships 2011: St Paul, Minn.
* World Men’s Curling Championship 2008: Grand Forks, N.D.
* World Junior Curling Championships 2007: Eveleth, Minn.
* World Men’s Curling Championship 2006: Lowell, Mass.
* Ford World Curling Championships 2002: Bismarck, N.D.
* World Senior Curling Championships 2002: Bismarck, N.D.
* World Junior Curling Championships 2001: Ogden, Utah
* World Curling Championships 1989: Milwaukee, Wis.
* World Curling Championships 1987: Chicago, Ill.
* Air Canada Silver Broom 1984: Duluth, Minn.
* Air Canada Silver Broom 1976: Duluth, Minn.
* Air Canada Silver Broom 1970: Utica, N.Y.

About the WCF: 

The World Curling Federation (WCF) is the international sport federation governing the Olympic winter sport of curling and the Paralympic winter sport of wheelchair curling. The WCF is one of seven International Sports Federations currently part of the Winter Olympic programme. It represents 54 Member Associations and is generally acknowledged to direct one of the fastest-growing international winter sports.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, and The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, BalancePlus,, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Hilton HHonors, United Airlines, RJM Licensing Inc., and CurlingZone.


For more information: 

Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office). Follow USA Curling on Twitter for daily updates (@usacurl). 

Cameron MacAllister, Communications & Media Relations Manager, World Curling Federation, , +44 (0)7937 604957