UWGB wins 2014 USA College Curling Championship

By Gordon Maclean | March 20, 2014, 12 a.m. (ET)

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is the 2014 USA Curling College Champion, the first College Championship event sanctioned by USA Curling. Team members include Marina Hauser (skip), Preston Waala (third), Phil Huberty (lead), and Heather Lindahl (second).

The championship event took place March 14-16 at the Four Season's Curling Club in Blaine, Minn. Sixteen schools were invited to participate in the championship based on their play during the curling season. The sixteen schools were seeded into four groups of four, with the winner of each group advancing to the Playoffs.

Along with the eventual champions UW-Green Bay In the playoffs were Villanova University (runner-up), Carroll University (third), and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (fourth).

UW-Green Bay came ready to play on the final day of the event, blasting through the Semi-Finals and Finals by stealing against the opposition's hammer in every end played except of the last end of the Final.

More details can be found on Facebook at the "US University Club and Varsity Curling" group, and on our website www.collegecurlingusa.org. Linescores for all games from the Championship event can be found www.curlingzone.com.

Thanks go out to our sponsors, Gabrielle Coleman Books, Brooms Up Curling Supply, and Taco Bell.