Home USA Curling Features Field set for 2014 U...

Field set for 2014 US Olympic Team Trials

By Terry Kolesar | May 09, 2013, 12 a.m. (ET)


May 9, 2013


Field for 2014 U.S. Olympic Team Trials for Curling determined


(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The final field for the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team Trials for Curling has now been determined.


USA Curling’s High Performance Selection Committee has selected the John Shuster rink as the final men’s team to bring the field to five. That team includes 2010 Olympian Jeff Isaacson (Gilbert, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Duluth, Minn.), and John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.).


The Courtney George rink has been selected as the final women’s team for the Trials. The team includes George (St. Paul, Minn.), Aileen Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), Amanda McLean (Duluth, Minn.), and Monica Walker (Brighton, Mass.), who has replaced Julie Lilla.


Per the Trials selection criteria, on the men’s side, the 2012 national champion and 2012 runner-up as well as the 2013 national champion and runner-up earned direct berths to the Trials. The HP Selection Committee had to add a fifth team to compete in the Trials. The Shuster rink, which finished third at the last two national championships, was selected as the fifth team.


On the women’s side, the 2012 national champion and runner up qualified as well as the 2013 national champ. The HP Selection Committee had to add a fourth team to compete and selected Team George, which finished second at the 2013 Nationals (Walker at the time was a member of Team Carlson, which finished fourth).


The 2014 Olympic Trials will take place Nov. 10-17 at Scheels Arena in Fargo, N.D. The winning teams will be nominated for approval by the United States Olympic Committee to compete in the 2014 Olympic Winter Games as members of Team USA. The women’s berth for the 2014 Games has been secured, whereas the men’s berth will need to be earned in December at the final Olympic Qualification Event (Dec. 11-15, Füssen, Germany).


Here is a look at the teams qualified for 2014 U.S. Olympic Trials for Curling:


Team Clark: Brady Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.), Sean Beighton (Seattle), Darren Lehto (Seattle), Philip Tilker (Seattle)


Team Fenson: Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Shawn Rojeski (Chisholm, Minn.), Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.), Ryan Brunt (Portage, Wis./Bemidji, Minn.)


Team George: Tyler George (Proctor, Minn.), Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Rich Ruohonen (Minneapolis, Minn.), Colin Hufman (Seattle)


Team McCormick: Heath McCormick (Sarnia, Ontario), Bill Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Martin Sather (Hastings-on-Hudson, N.Y.), Dean Gemmell (Short Hills, N.J.)


Team Shuster: John Shuster (Duluth, Minn.), Jeff Isaacson (Gilbert, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Duluth, MInn.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.)


Team Brown: Erika Brown (Oakville, Ontario), Debbie McCormick (Rio, Wis.), Jessica Schultz (Minneapolis, Minn.), Ann Swisshelm (Chicago)


Team George: Courtney George (St. Paul, Minn.), Aileen Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), Amanda McLean (Duluth, Minn.), Monica Walker (Brighton, Mass.)


Team Pottinger: Allison Pottinger (Eden Prairie, Minn.), Nicole Joraanstad (Verona, Wis.), Natalie Nicholson (Bemidji, Minn.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.)


Team Potter: Cassie Potter (St. Paul, Minn.), Jamie Haskell (Bemidji, Minn.), Jackie Lemke (Medford, Wis.), Stephanie Sambor (Minot, N.D.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomAmpd, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, and The RAM Restaurant & Brewery and is partnered with Ludus Tours, CurlingZone, and RJM Licensing, Inc.


Visit the USA Curling website at www.usacurl.org and connect with USA Curling on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Foursquare.




For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling, terry.kolesar@usacurl.org, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202, or 608-338-9900 (cell)