CURLING: Five men's teams remain undefeated at 2008 U.S. Club Nationals

March 03, 2008, 1 a.m. (ET)
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 3, 2008 U.S. Club Nationals kick off Sunday in Mankato (STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - Five men's teams remain undefeated and five haven't posted a win after two rounds of action Monday morning at the 2008 U.S. Club National Championships at the five-sheet Mankato Curling Club in Mankato, Minn. Minnesota's Reuben Harris team from the St. Paul Curling Club improved to 2-0 with a 12-2 win over Stuart Cohen's Ohio team representing the Columbus Curling Club. Harris (St. Paul, Minn.) and teammates Matthew Peterson (Plymouth, Minn.), Aaron Nunberg (St. Paul, Minn.), Zac Owens (Vadnais Heights, Minn.) and Lionel Locke (Minneapolis) pounced early scoring four points over the first two ends and then had back-to-back four-enders to close out the game after six ends. Dave Brown led his Wisconsin 1 troops from the Madison Curling Club to an 11-8 win over Doug Schaak's Evergreen Curling Club team from Oregon. Brown (Fitchburg, Wis.) and teammates Kraig Deeren (Madison, Wis.), Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.) and Richard Maskel (Green Bay, Wis.) went back-and-forth with the Oregon rink but sealed the win with a huge seventh end when they scored four points. A steal of one point in the next end kept Oregon at bay. Maryland's Scott Edie rink stole a single in the 10th end to defeat Wisconsin 2, led by Ian Journeaux (Plover, Wis.). Jeff Wright led his Illinois team to an 11-6 win over Washington's John Rasmussen team. Wright (Libertyville, Ill.) and teammates Nils Johansson (Highland Park, Ill.), Russ Brown (Lake Forest, Ill.), Ken Brown (Deerfield, Ill.) and Steve Waters (Evenston, Ill.) never trailed in this match as they built a 6-2 lead after six ends and held off Washington with a three-ender in the 10th end. North Dakota's Rick Tangedal team also kept its record unblemished with a lopsided 17-1 win over Colorado's Brett Gleeson team. The action continues today with draws at noon, 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. The round robin concludes Friday afternoon. The top four teams qualify for Saturday morning's semifinals. The men's and women's championship finals are set for 2 p.m. Saturday. The U.S. Club Nationals, now in its fourth year, does not lead to the World Championships, rather rewards the top league-playing team in the U.S. The winners of the recent U.S. National Championships in Hibbing represent the U.S. at the Worlds. Game scores: Minnesota 12, Ohio 2; Maryland 6, Wisconsin II 5; North Dakota 17, Colorado 1; Illinois 11, Washington 6; Wisconsin I 11, Oregon 8 Standings: Men: Illinois (Wright) 2-0 Maryland (Edie) 2-0 Minnesota (Harris) 2-0 North Dakota (Tangedal) 2-0 Wisconsin 1 (Brown) 2-0 Colorado (Gleeson) 0-2 Ohio (Cohen) 0-2 Oregon (Schaak) 0-2 Washington (Rasmussen) 0-2 Wisconsin 2 (Journeaux) 0-2 Women: Maryland (Drummie) 1-0 Minnesota (O'Leary) 1-0 New York (Meechai) 1-0 North Dakota 1 (Bohlman) 1-0 Wisconsin (Pahl) 1-0 Arizona (Tait) 0-1 Illinois (Lawless) 0-1 North Dakota 2 (Jaster) 0-1 Ohio (Festersen) 0-1 Texas (Willingham) 0-1 USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, AmerAust Technologies and Nike as well as by AT,T through a joint marketing program with the U.S. Olympic Committee. (30) For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling,, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202, or 608-338-9900 (cell).