CURLING: Oleinik, Russell win titles at 2008 U.S. Seniors

Jan. 21, 2008, 1 a.m. (ET)
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 21, 2008 Russell, Oleinik win titles at 2008 U.S. Senior Nationals (HIGHLAND PARK, Ill.) - It took David Russell's team an extra end to get the opportunity to wear "Team USA" on their backs again with a 5-4 win over Jeff Wright's Illinois team Monday morning at the 2008 USA Curling Senior National Championships at the Exmoor Curling Club. Russell (La Crosse, Wis.) and teammates Bill Rhyme (Green Bay, Wis.), Mark Swandby (Madison, Wis.), Dave Carlson (Portage, Wis.) and Mike Fraboni (McFarland, Wis.) along with women's champions Pam Oleinik (Brookfield, Wis.) and teammates Laurie Rahn (Lake Forest, Ill.), Susan Curtis (Rogers, Ark.), Jo Ann Matthews (New Berlin, Wis.) and Donna Purkey (Greenwich, Conn.) will represent the U.S. at the World Senior Championships in Vierumaki, Finland, March 8-16. Both teams are familiar with World Seniors as Oleinik's team won bronze last year and Russell's rink captured silver back in 2005. To get there, Russell's team had to overcome Wright (Libertyville, Ill.) and teammates Nils Johansson (Highland Park, Ill.), Mike Griem (Lake Bluff, Ill.), Bob Alsteen (Boynton Beach, Fla.) and Bob Moulton (Lake Forest, Ill.). The teams exchanged singles up until the seventh end when Wright finally capitalized for two to take a 4-3 lead heading into the final end of regulation. Russell's team only got one to tie and went into an extra end where they prevailed with a steal of one to win the men's title. Oleinik's team defended their women's title Sunday afternoon after defeating Wisconsin's Star Pfiffner team in the final double round robin game, 11-1. Nineteen men's teams and 11 women's teams will compete at the 2008 World Senior Championships held at the Vierumaki Country Club. The men's teams will compete in two pools. Pool Blue includes Scotland, USA, Finland, New Zealand, England, Ireland, Norway, Italy and the Netherlands. Pool Red features Canada, Sweden, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Wales, Denmark, Russia, Estonia and Iceland. The top two teams from each pool qualify to the semifinals. On the women's side, Pool Blue features Sweden, Scotland, Switzerland and Ireland with the top three qualifying to the quarterfinals. Pool Red includes Canada, USA, England, Finland, Japan, New Zealand and the Netherlands with the top five moving on to the playoffs. Live scoring from the event will be found online at Since the World Senior Championships were created in 2002, the U.S. men have won four silver medals (2006, 2005, 2004, 2003) and one gold medal (2002) while the women have won three bronze (2007, 2004, 2002). Men's championship line score: *Russell 101 001 011 5 Wright 010 100 200 4 Women's championship line score: *Oleinik 120 314 XX 11 Pfiffner 001 000 XX 1 *last stone in first end Standings: Pool A: *Brian Simonson (Minnesota) 7-0 *Phil DeVore (Minnesota) 5-2 Leland Rich (Alaska) 5-2 Paul Pustovar (Minnesota) 4-3 Merlin Orvik (Minnesota) 3-4 George Godfrey (Wisconsin) 2-5 Michael Parry (Massachusetts) 1-5 Duke Grimshaw (Michigan) 0-6 Pool B: David Russell (Wisconsin) 6-1 Jeff Wright (Illinois) 5-2 Seppo Sormunen (Minnesota) 4-3 Walter Ehlert (Wisconsin) 4-3 George Austin (New York) 3-4 Lionel Locke (Minnesota) 2-4 Stuart Graves (Massachusetts) 2-5 David Garber (Wisconsin) 1-5 **semifinalists Women's standings: Pam Oleinik (Wisconsin) 6-1 Star Pfiffner (Wisconsin) 5-2 Delores Montgomery (Ohio) 1-5 Jamie Hutchinson (Massachusetts) 1-5 USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, AmerAust Technologies and Nike as well as by AT,T, General Motors, The Home Depot, and Bank of America through a joint marketing program with the U.S. Olympic Committee. (30) For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling,, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202, or 608-338-9900 (cell).